Posts Tagged ‘cover’

Skulduggery Pleasant: The Dying of the Light (Cover) – Derek Landy

This is the most exciting cover reveal ever.

EVER.

I don’t think I even need to say what I am feeling except HOLY WAFFLES GUYS I AM SO EXCITED.

And as the charred, dismembered skeleton head leaks smoke from the eye sockets how can you not say that this cover is the best thing to ever hit the SP series?

One more thing: If you try to contact me on the 28th August 2014, know that I will not answer, I will probably skip food and sleep to finish this book and then I will probably collapse. And it will be so worth it.

The Young Elites (Cover) – Marie Lu

9780399167836

Whoa.

Ooooh, I was hoping it would be badass.

It’s very minimalist, so I don’t see much to talk about. But somehow this simple blend of the storm clouds and the rusting iron letters and ooooh look at that badass sword looks awesome.

Oh I am so so so excited for this book.

The Young Elites is coming out October 7th, this year, and it can’t come soon enough.

Champion- Marie Lu (Cover)

Champion (Legend, #3)

It’s so beautiful.

From Goodreads:

The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

The only thing that I have against it is that Marie Lu said that “there are a couple of deaths” and “she cried while writing it” and “I enjoy forcing pain and suffering on my characters” :S

Legend (Legend, #1)Prodigy (Legend, #2)Champion (Legend, #3)

And guess what guys?

It comes out on fireworks day (kinda fitting right?), and that’s not even the best part of it.

Drumroll please

It comes out of fireworks day, this year.

2013.

November 5th 2013.

More Than This- Patrick Ness

THERE’S A NEW PATRICK NESS YA NOVEL COMING OUT!!!

YAYAYAYAYAY!!

Okay now that that is done, here’s the post

It’s called “More Than This” and is going to be released in September 2013, and I’m so excited!!!! His writing style is just so so awesome and flawless and I would say that I hope this book won’t disappoint, but I am sure it won’t…

At first after hearing the title I didn’t really know what to think because it could be anything: from zombies (e.g. there could never be more zombies than this) to a lovey-dovey book (e.g. ahem. I don’t think I really need an example in words- *insert whatever your imagination thinks of*).

But no! It’s something even more awesome! (Well… maybe bordering on zombie awesomeness, because well… zombies are just awesome!): Apocalypse. Alone. Memory loss. Confusion. etc.

From Goodreads (and the cover!- at least I think it is the cover):

More Than ThisFrom two-time Carnegie Medal winner Patrick Ness comes an enthralling and provocative new novel chronicling the life — or perhaps afterlife — of a teen trapped in a crumbling, abandoned world.

A boy named Seth drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments, losing his life as the pounding sea claims him. But then he wakes. He is naked, thirsty, starving. But alive. How is that possible? He remembers dying, his bones breaking, his skull dashed upon the rocks. So how is he here? And where is this place? It looks like the suburban English town where he lived as a child, before an unthinkable tragedy happened and his family moved to America. But the neighbourhood around his old house is overgrown, covered in dust, and completely abandoned. What’s going on? And why is it that whenever he closes his eyes, he falls prey to vivid, agonizing memories that seem more real than the world around him? Seth begins a search for answers, hoping that he might not be alone, that this might not be the hell he fears it to be, that there might be more than just this. . . .

The only thing that annoys me about the goodreads page is that some annoying idiot went and gave the book one star. WHY? (And yes. I did my research and that person did not read the book) Don’t you just hate it when you look at books that haven’t come out and people have already rated it. I guess it’s better if it’s a good rating because then it at least expresses their excitement… but a bad rating from someone who hasn’t even read the book is just sad… sad that they would go looking for books and giving it one star just to spite whoever..
But anyway… that’s a different matter 😛

Anyway…

So I’m kinda curious what’s going to happen now:

  • Who is this Seth?
  • Why doesn’t he die?
  • What part of the story is real?
  • What was the “unthinkable tragedy”?
  • Why is the planet ruined?
  • How is Patrick Ness going to make it all fit together? The only plausible ending that I can think of at the moment is “and it was all a dream” but those endings are… ahem, what’s a nice way to put it?
  • Is this going to be a series?
  • Please please let there be a book tour of this with opportunities for book signings and meetings.

All I can say now is that I can’t wait for this book to finally come out! September really needs to come faster…

Unsouled (Cover) – Neal Shusterman

UnSouled (Unwind, #3)I have no idea how long this cover has been out, I just saw it on goodreads while I was scrolling through and just decided that I HAVE TO TALK ABOUT THIS.

BECAUSE SERIOUSLY.

OH MY GOD.

This is kind of giving me Fullmetal Alchemist:Brotherhood deja vu because you know that bit where SPOILERS they walk into the room full of those weird white soldiers that they made for the military, and they’re all just hanging from the walls and they’re mega creepy and like bleed green blood (I can’t really remember it exactly but I do remember that it was so damn creepy)?

Well yeah, that’s what this reminded me of.

If you don’t get that reference, then let’s just say I’m kind of terrified by this cover.

That, plus the title UNSOULED is just so awesome.

And so creepy.

Seriously, I don’t know if I would be able to sleep at night knowing that cover was right there (on a side note, I love the american covers. The new UK covers are really ugly in comparison).

So I’m intrigued to know what it means, the sleeping heads on the wall and the one awake one that’s just staring out all creepy, and oh my god the more I look at it the more I get creeped out.

By the way, I love the font they use for the title.

So yeah! Creepy ass cover! It’s going to be amazing, I hope, and good job designer for being better than the UK designer!

If you want a comparison:

Here is the new UK cover for Unwind:

And here is the american cover for Unwind:

Sure, the UK one is striking and bold and probably attracts a different audience’s attention and stuff but COME ON! THE AMERICAN ONE IS SO MUCH PRETTIER.

Battle Lines- Will Hill (cover)

How awesome is this cover?
It comes out 29th August 2013 (this year!) and is the third in the Department 19 series of 5)
And obviously because I’m taking about the 3rd book in a series, there will be spoilers to the others ahead.

Battle Lines (Department 19, #3)

Summary from Goodreads:

It’s always darkest before dawn.

Secret government unit Department 19 is recovering from evil vampire Valeri Rusmanov’s deadly attack on their base. The Department’s newest member, teenage operator Jamie Carpenter, is tasked with training up a new squad, as his friends and colleagues desperately search for ways to try to stop what is coming.

The timing couldn’t be worse for a coordinated, global attack on a number of maximum security prisons and hospitals—with the already-dangerous inmates now on the loose and turned into vampires. One of the escapees has a deep connection to one of the darkest moments in the history of Department 19 and embarks on a quest that threatens to expose the existence of vampires to the public. And with each day that passes, the regenerated Dracula gets stronger, bringing Zero Hour closer.

In this third instalment of the epic Department 19 series, Will Hill delivers higher—and sharper—stakes than ever before

The previous two books (links to the reviews on the pictures):

Department Nineteen (Department Nineteen, #1)The Rising (Department Nineteen, #2)
I love how all of them match up so well! It’s just one of those series that I can imagine sitting on a shelf with no doubt that they all belong together and to separate buying them would be a sin.

In the next 3 books:

What I hope will happen:

  • A cure for vampirism will be discovered/ vampires will eat all the humans then die out because of the sudden blood intake/ loss
  • A reunion between Jamie and his dad.
  • Frankenstein will regain his memory.
  • Larissa will get to see her brother again.
  • Jamie will stop being an idiot.
  • Jamie’s mum will finally warm to Larissa.
  • Jamie and Valentin will become friends.
  • Frankenstein will get his memory back.

Questions that I hope will be answered:

  • How did Jamie’s dad survive?
  • What did he do for the first few years before looking for a cure for his vampire wife?
  • Why does Dracula want Seward?
  • What is Kate’s dad going to do?

What I think will happen:

  • Dracula will die along with Valeri.
  • Valentin, Larissa and Jamie’s mum will be cured.
  • Seward will die. ;(
  • There will be an awesome massive fight.
  • When Jamie sees his dad he will beat him up.
  • Frankenstein or Julian will die.
  • Kate and Matt will get together.
  • Jamie might get bitten by a vampire

August 29th please hurry up and come!

Clockwork Princess (Cover) – Cassandra Clare

All this Mortal Instrument news just keeps on coming out.

So, look what we have here.

A flipping gorgeous cover.

So, obviously this is Tessa, who is for some reason smouldering into the camera. But I don’t care, because the entire cover is really really pretty. All of the Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices books have really nice covers. And there’s a glow coming from her book, which Cassandra Clare did say was the Codex. And they’ve got some of the london buildings in the background. The dress is also gorgeous, and of course she has the clockwork angel around her neck.

Guys, why does this book have to be so pretty?

I am going to read it, though I didn’t enjoy the first two as much as I thought I did, Cassandra Clare is a really talented writer, and her books are always so action packed with great dialogue and humour.

So, what do you guys think?

Tell me! I have absolutely no predictions for this last book, as she always surprises me, except that Will and Tessa will end up together (hopefully). Jem is nice and all, but Will is obviously made for Tessa.