The Book Courtship Tag

This tag was created by this person, and we were tagged in it by no one except my own procrastination. Also, it looked cool.

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?
The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer – usually I know something about the books that I’m buying, but I’d heard next to nothing about this book when I first found it. I was seduced by all the prettiness on this cover that I bought it.

Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?
The Night Circus by Erin Morgernstern has a brilliant blurb which is lifted from the first three lines of the book.

Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing?
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – I feel like I’ve talked this book down because I wasn’t in love with certain romantic subplots which ended up becoming the main plot but holy damn this book is worth reading for the writing alone. The book is great, I swear, it’s just personal preference when it comes to certain creepy love interests.

Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan – I read this book quite a while ago but I remember reading it and planning to take the next four books out of the library immediately.

Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?
Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake – technically I had to put this book down once it got super late because it was kind of terrifying to be reading it alone in the quiet and the dark, but if I wasn’t so scared, I would have kept going all the way into the morning.

Phase 6 – Always on my mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?
Vicious by V.E. Schwab – This book has so many interesting facets to it and different interpretations and as soon as I finished it I wanted to reread it.

Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels?
I… I have never thought about this before.
The Colossus by Sylvia Plath? I really like these cool paperback editions that have the flappy bits of a hardcover, are slightly more sturdy, but still are light and portable which is what I love about paperbacks. But the feel? I dunno.

Phase 8 – Meeting the parents: A book which you would recomend to your family and friends?
Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo – I recommend this book to everyone. However, maybe I was supposed to pick a novel. Trying again.
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – I feel like this is a really obvious choice because it works for a really wide range of ages, has sad and happy moments, only problem is it might put off some people with it’s size.

Phase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will reread many times in the future?
How to be Both by Ali Smith – I have not thought that far in the future yet, and I don’t reread most of my books, but this is the only book that I’ve actually planned to reread sometime in the future, because its format begs to be read again.

Phase 10 – Share the love: Who do you tag?
I tagged myself, and you can too.
Here, look, I’ll tag you right now. Go do it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

