Top 2 Books From 6 Genres Tag

Who has been watching too many booktube videos? I have been watching too many booktube videos.

If you want better recommendations then go to our top tens page for a full list. These books will be the ones that didn’t make it there but are still worth your time.

Dystopian

Fearsome Dreamer by Laure Eve – I think this is dystopian? Or is it fantasy? Or is it both?

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro – At least watch the movie for this one, because it is really great.

Romance

The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan – Probably one of the tiniest books I’ve read.

Lips Touch by Laini Taylor – this one is more of the relationship between lust and love with lots of fantasy thrown in there, but I haven’t read enough Romance to recommend you much else. So there.

Fantasy

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson – I didn’t include graphic novels in the top tens because they would take up too much space, so I’m saying it here: Nimona is bloody fantastic. And you can read it online, for free, legally, right now. So go. Go!

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson – This is also available online, for free, legally, right now. And it is damn good, so go read it.

Sci-Fi

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey – It has just occurred to me that I haven’t read much science fiction. Huh.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer – I haven’t read the rest of this series yet (I plan to! Promise!), but I like fairytales, and I like this.

Paranormal

Antigoddess by Kendare Blake – This has greek gods in it. Is that paranormal? I feel like paranormal refers to ghosts/vampires/werewolves but I haven’t read that much of that stuff. Oh wait, I know!

Angelfall by Susan Ee – This is paranormal, right? I’m saying this is paranormal. Also haven’t read the second book yet, but I’m getting to it, I swear!

Historical

The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan – How predictable.

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys – I didn’t know much about this book when I first read it, but I flew through it.

We’re adding a category because why not. We can do what we want here.

Non-Fiction

How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran – While I’m probably not going to do everything this book encourages, this book is great because it is so damn quotable, Caitlin Moran is brilliant, and it is a big ball of fun (and also anger, but angry fun).

Escape From Camp 14 by Blaine Harden – And once you’re all riled up and angry, read this harrowing and horrifying story of one man’s escape from a labour camp in North Korea. Who needs dystopians when the real world is worse?

What a cheerful note to end on. I hope you find something in all of this to read, and we will see you next time!

Leave a Reply

