Antigoddess – Kendare Blake

13246736I absolutely love the Anna Duology (Reasons why: Anna Dressed in Blood, Girl of Nightmaresand that was the only reason I picked up this book.

So I went into this with the intention to fill the Cas-shaped hole in my heart. Percy Jackson meets Kendare Blake’s slick characterisations and awesome humour. I was excited.

Summary

Like Percy Jackson but gruesome and somehow more hilarious. (Review of the first PJO book here)

Yeah, I know, I’m only comparing it to PJO because it’s greek mythology, but we all knew it was inevitable. Percy Jackson is massive. It was going to happen as inevitably as people calling The Hunger Games the next Twilight.

By the way, I love Percy Jackson. This is a compliment, if you guys aren’t sensing that yet.

Cons

Am I supposed to like Aidan?

Because I really don’t like Aidan.

Actually, most of the romances felt very weird. I guess Gods + Mortals isn’t going to be the next paranormal romance craze for me, and I think it’s the mere fact that they are gods, and I found it really difficult to imagine them looking like teenagers when you’re like “But you’re a GOD.”

Anyway, Aidan made my skin crawl. I did not like his romance with Cassandra at all after the revelation. Maybe that was intended. Maybe not. We still have another two books to find out.

And Cas

I MISS CAS SO MUCH.

YOU HAVE NO IDEA.

Well, no, if you’ve read Anna Dressed in Blood you probably do, so all I could think about whilst reading Antigoddess was how much I wanted Cas back.

Pros

We all know that Kendare Blake can WRITE.

I trust her plotting and her character development and her dialogue and her writing style and just everything. Kendare Blake is amazing and we just have to accept that.

Also the references to Anna Dressed in Blood made me smile with glee.

Quotes

  • “For the record I don’t believe in Fate. I believe that the pieces have been placed. The ending hasn’t been written yet.”
  • “The Mustang growled into reverse, aiming straight for the old lady.
    Cassandra would have winced, even if she had been the most evil old woman on the face of the planet. Even if she had been granny-Hitler, she would have winced at the idea of running her down. But the thing standing in the road looked nothing like an old woman anymore.”
  • “This is what men risk so much for; this shiver, this acute heat and desire. This is what they think eternity feels like.”

Overall

4.5 shuriken stars. Perhaps if I hadn’t read Anna I would have given this 5. I am very excited for the direction that this series is heading in, and I will hopefully get to the second book ASAP.

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Yay Cas! Love him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

