Xmas BookTube-A-Thon 2014 Wrap-Up

No one is going to be surprised by how I did on this.

So basically I was a lot busier during the Friday to Sunday period than I thought, and I did about… no… reading…

So that was bad.

I decided to change this thing to the 18th, 22nd, and 23rd of December instead. Because then at least I’d have a chance. Which basically meant I cheated but hey, three days, around the Xmas season, still completed all the challenges – that’s not too bad, right?

So I twisted the rules a little. But that’s okay, we’re all friends here.

So what did I read?

1. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
I can’t remember how much of this I read on Thursday, so I’m going to say 100 pages. It was bloody good, let me tell you. I was on the verge of crying many, many times. I also do not accept that ending. It was great, but I’m pretending it didn’t happen. 5 shuriken stars.

2. The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson
I finally completed this trilogy (which I’ve been meaning to do for FOREVER, so it completes one of the goals). I was already a bit of the way through so I read about 600 pages of this. Oh my god, it was amazing. Brandon Sanderson actually managed to wrap up all the loose ends, even ends that I didn’t realise were loose ends. 5 shuriken stars.

3. Fearsome Dreamer by Laure Eve
After I spent a good deal of time mourning the end of the Mistborn Trilogy, I picked this up, which fulfils my other two goals (read a book given to you and read a book with red and green on the cover, which is probably being a bit too lenient on the weird turquoisey and pinky-reddish colours, but I don’t care, I’m counting it). I think the series has a lot of potential, and I like the world, but there was not enough of anything yet for me really to decide. Either way, I’m intrigued. 4 shuriken stars.

4. The Alloy of Law by Brandon Sanderson
I read about 250 pages of this, for no reason other than missing the Mistborn world a hell of a lot. Now that I’ve finished those last 50 or so other pages, I can tell you that it’s (unsurprisingly) 5 shuriken stars.

Page count time!

I read about… 1300 pages! That’s a lot more than I expected actually, so I’m happy with that. Thanks, Brandon Sanderson, for writing massive books.

Happy Holidays Everyone!

Leave a Reply

