BookTube-A-Thon 2014 Wrap-Up

So I completed like over half of the challenges.

Sort of.

So I think I’m going to say I was successful in this thing.

1. The Curse of the Wendigo by Rick Yancey
This completes the ‘A book with red on the cover’ & ‘A book from the genre you’ve read the least this year’ challenges, as it’s blatantly red and horror fiction. Oh my god, was it gory. Far more than the first, which was a surprise that I should have expected. I mainly read this for Will Henry, also known as one of the best sidekicks ever. This kid is getting good character development.

2. A Pale View of Hills by Kazuo Ishiguro
This fulfills no quotas, but it was short and interesting (and super creepy) so I read it and enjoyed it. I had to do a little double-take at the end. Seriously, that ending. What.

3. The Avengers Prequel: Fury’s Big Week by a whole bunch of people
While it definitely counts for ‘A book with pictures’, I’m also the including ‘A book-to-movie adaptation’ challenge, even if it’s not technically true. And I watched it two years ago, not during the book-tube-a-thon. But details, details, I’m counting it.

4. The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan
It was short and cute and really clever, so it was perfect for this booktube-a-thon thing.

5. Mistborn: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson
This is me starting a series, thereby half doing a challenge, but I didn’t have the next two books (which I will soon hunt down) so I didn’t finish it. But it was so damn good that I then went on to read…

6. The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson
Which was also amazing. I was then going to go on and read The Way of Kings while I was on this Sanderson kick, but I saw how long it was and got intimidated. Over 1000 pages. Yikes.

7. Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder
I had nearly finished this book before the booktube-a-thon, so I decided to read it to fulfill the ‘read seven books’ challenge. Honestly, I didn’t like it very much, especially after reading two really fabulous fantasy novels.

I also read about one third of ‘if nobody speaks of remarkable things’ by Jon McGregor,  but I was lazy so I didn’t finish it. And I read about fifty pages of Birdsong, which was inbetween this whole fantasy thing I was doing near the end of the week, and I realised that this wasn’t the genre I wanted to be reading.

If I calculate my page count (Which really isn’t very high because I’d started a lot of these books beforehand) is about: 1750 pages.

So I completed most of the challenges, and I read a book a day, and I’m really happy with that. This was surprisingly fun.

I would recommend that you guys try this when it rolls around again, because it gives a real sense of achievement when you can tick off a challenge, and if you watch the youtube videos along with it, there’s a very nice sense of community.

Yeah, I’ll have to do this again next year.

Leave a Reply

