Random Book Reviews #1

Sometimes I am too lazy to write full reviews.

This is what happens.

Will Grayson, Will Grayson – John Green & David Levithan

Two boys, one name. Also romance and friendship and extraordinary musicals.

I enjoyed it – of course I enjoyed it, I love John Green and David Levithan is amazing. However, I didn’t come away from it thinking anything other than that was fun. The writing was gorgeous. The characters were solid (if not a little predictable). Not life-changing, but definitely not bad.

4 shuriken stars.

Paper Towns – John Green

Boy likes girl. Girl disappears. Boy searches for girl. Road trip = fun times.

Loved this one. It grew on me as I thought about it, and I learnt a lot from it. Fun characters, fun times. However do I love it as much as TFIOS? That’s hard.

5 shuriken stars.

Out of the Easy – Ruta Sepetys

Girl’s mum is a prostitute. Also it’s set in the 50’s which makes it extra fun to read.

Loved the setting, loved Josie, loved loved loved the writing. Especially loved Willie. However, some of the characters were a little under-developed with such a short book and I didn’t feel like it came to much conclusion by the end (also, the twists were kind of predictable, though not bad twists at all).

4 1/2 shuriken stars.

Beautiful Creatures – Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Boy meets girl. Girl has supernatural powers. They fall in love.

Expectations were way too high going in.

Forgot that I was reading a high school paranormal romance until it got to the book and then I went “Oh. Right. This again.” The characters were fun (though the emphasis on Lena being such a special snowflake because she wasn’t a ‘slut’ or ‘fake’ grated on my nerves, and – though I wouldn’t know from any personal experience – there seemed to be a lot of negative southern stereotyping), plot was a little dense and hard to follow, and I admit that I wasn’t paying much attention while reading, but the book held my attention.

3 1/2 shuriken stars.

Mark of Athena – Rick Riordan

The demigods meet, but unfortunately, it’s not like the Avengers.

Kind of disappointing, to be honest. The initial interactions were very mild and friendly, which was a little boring. I was looking forward to some complex characterisation and relationships, but everyone was pretty content with each other. (Except Leo and Frank, whose tension was more annoying than interesting. The love triangle amongst all the other love triangles was just one too many, I’m afraid.) Also, there wasn’t much character development, but I always enjoy seeing my favourite characters, and the plot is beginning to gain pace.

4 shuriken stars.

Leave a Reply

