More than this- Patrick Ness

Well… It’s a book by Patrick Ness, what else is there to say? 🙂

More Than ThisSummary
The main character Seth, dies and somehow comes back to life, but in a totally different place- in fact the worst place for him on earth. The first part of the book is him alone somehow learning to live alone and struggle with what place it actually is- hell?, the afterworld? Etc…. Then he hears a noise, the noise of a car, in a seemless empty place, and while running towards it he kinda gets half kidnapped for his own safety. He then makes some new friends and together they begin to piece together where they are. We also get his backstory of when he was alive, and how he died in the book.

Cons

Comparison to his other books
The Knife of Never Letting Go is my favourite book of all time and all books, and even after reading this book I’m still happy to say that. The problem is that after Patrick Ness has written such an awesome series, it really does set the bar up high for his other books. While I’m happy to say that this book met “the bar” what is hard to say is that it is better than the Chaos Walking trilogy. So, this isn’t really a con, but more of a comment that I didn’t think it was as good as Chaos Walking, but to be honest I didn’t quite want it to be either because I didn’t want something to replace Manchee, Todd, Viola, Davy, and all the other deep and wonderful characters of Chaos Walking.

Pros

It was terrifying
It took me a while to read- much longer than it should have been because after reading some of it I had to stop because I was scaring myself loads. The thing is the book isn’t even that scary, it was more the way it was written and how it made me think about how I would cope if I was in a world with no one else around.

What if I’m living in a dream world
Because I would never know unless I die in a particular way, and what if its like inception, where both worlds die and it ends up being a dream world within a dream world.

The connections to Chaos Walking
It’s easy to tell that they are by the same author. I loved how in More that this there were talks about being a “man” just like how Todd was always looking to his birthday because it marks the day he officially becomes a man.

Tackling modern day issues
It seemed to have a hint of almost everything; global warming, murder, rape (hinted at but never really said), abuse, sexuality. But it still held itself together, unlike other books which have thrown all sorts of issues into it to try to make it seem less empty.

All the other obvious points
Writing Style
Character Development
Characters

Favourite Quotes

  • “You said we all want there to be more than this! Well, there’s always more than this. There’s always something you don’t know”
  • “Real life is only ever just real life. Messy. What it means depends on how you look at it. The only thing you’ve got to do is find a way to live there”
  • “Go in swinging”
  • “We have to lie to ourselves to live. Otherwise, we’d go crazy”
  • “A book… it’s a world all on its own too. A world made of words, where you live for a while”

Overall
Well, as I said before its a Patrick Ness book, and therefore without any hesitation I give it 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

