Alice in Deadland- Mainak Dhar

Before reading this book I looked up some review of the book just to see what I should be expecting. I found lots of review saying that it was written badly, the writer was home-published (or something like that), the plot wasn’t original or interesting, etc. But to be honest when I was reading it I didn’t find any of those faults annoying enough to make me put down the book in a fury of anger.

Alice in Deadland (Alice in Deadland, #1)Summary
So as you may have guessed from the title its like a book mashup of Alice in Wonderland and the Zombie Apocalypse. It follows the basic plot of Alice in Wonderland- ish- maybe- not really sure- ie I read it ages and ages ago as a kid and the only recent memories I have of it is when the new movie came out.

Cons
Writing style
I know in my little rant above I said the writing style didn’t bother me that much and it’s true. The reason why its in the cons section is that while it didn’t bother me that much I know it could have been so much better. When bad stuff happened to Alice she felt sad and cried and stuff, but I didn’t feel as sad as I should have felt. There are those situations where the writer can just write a little to make the reader feel sad because they can relate to the situation, but to be honest the thing that happened to Alice the majority of the readers won’t be able to relate to it and so he has to make  the reader relate and feel her pain. I just feel it didn’t happen. I felt sorry for her and a little sad because I imagined it happening to myself and how I would react, but it could have been so much better. (So if you are dying to know what happened to Alice: *spoiler alert*: her family all died)

Pros
The idea
I love modern day (ish) retelling of farie tales, old classics, etc. I also love zombie books. So of course I loved the idea of this book.

Zombie twist
Technically they can’t really be zombies because they are half intelligent

Favourite Quotes

  • “You take anything you fear and cannot understand and make it an object of hate. So much easier to hate and destroy than to seek to understand”
  • “Man had proven to be the most jealous of lovers, preferring to destroy the Earth rather than give her up”
  • “Better dead than undead”

Overall
So yeah, while I did enjoy the book, I didn’t love it. It was a quick read that kept me entertained and didn’t require too much emotional content. Its a good book if you’re looking for something that easy and doesn’t sap the life out of you, but if you are looking for a deep book with loads to back-story and stuff that makes you want to curl into a ball and cry, this isn’t one of them. 3.5 stars.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I sometimes wonder about some reviewers… I’ve read several books that had reviews like that and yet the book was well written… sometimes I think they just want to sound like they know what they’re talking about and in truth they may just not like the book…

    Reply

    • I think it’s often quite hard to tell whether a book is well written or not because it’s mainly the writing style and then just personal opinion judging it. Because even if a book is so called “badly written” thinking about it its just a different type of writing style to most books

      Reply

Leave a Reply

