2013 Wrap-Up

I really didn’t read that much in 2013. Sure, I hit my goodreads reading challenge for the year, but that was mainly due to half of my entries being manga or short stories.

But I read enough books to find some absolutely brilliant stories. It was hard to cut this list down to only five, and I could do the whole “top 13 of 2013”, but I’m not sure if I even have thirteen books that I absolutely loved. So five it is.

1. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath –  As soon as I finished the book, I went back and re-read it; memorised quotes from it; thought about it for days. If that’s not a sign of a good book, I don’t know what is.

2. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – A realistic, vivid fantasy with gorgeous writing. And yes, I did re-read this one. Twice.

3. Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake – I have never been so emotionally affected by a book. Theseus Cassio Lockwood, why do you do this to me?

4. Fighting Ruben Wolfe by Markus Zusak – It was gritty and beautiful and made me tear up half a dozen times. I should expect nothing less from Markus Zusak.

5. Champion by Marie Lu – The final books in dystopians almost always disappoint. Champion, however, was thrilling, exciting, emotional, and above all, realistic. A brilliant conclusion to a brillant series.

We hope you’ve had an amazing year, read some great books, and we look forward to seeing you in 2014 for even more reading adventures!

Leave a Reply

