Partials- Dan Wells

Partials (Partials, #1)

Summary

It’s a post apocalypse world and the rest of humanity has ended up on this island while the rest of the world is overwhelmed with Partials- robots who were genetically engineered to help end this war a while ago- and they look exactly like humans and from what we know they don’t age. And the rest of humanity is doomed because there is this illness called RM that causes babies to die.

So we follow the main character called Kira who decides that she needs to capture a Partial to cure RM ans save her best friend, Madison’s,  child. So then she goes to the mainland captures a Partial, goes back, escapes with the partial, goes back to the mainland, is the experiment, then finds the cure and goes back to her home and saves her best friends baby daughter.

Cons

Slow Beginning
I found it hard to get into partly because the entire first part of the book is what it says on the blurb and I kinda wanted the proper plot to actually get started.

Couldn’t get into it
Usually when I get a book out from the library I finish it before I had to renew it, but this time it took me 3 renews to finally finish it! By the time I was properly into it I think I must have been at least 2/3 through with it- mainly to do with the awesome plot twist!

Possible Love Triangle
There wasn’t one in this book, but I wasn’t sure which other section to display my concerns… At the end of the book Kira decides to go off with Samm (the partial)

Pros

Romance
As I said before there was a love triangle, but the good thing about it was that it didn’t overwhelm the book. It didn’t become one of those books that was so heavily focused on the romance that the plot suddenly dissipates and dies. It was good how Kira kept to her boyfriend even though she was travelling with others for weeks. But

Plot Twist
Unlike many recent “plot twists” that I have read lately, this plot twist was actually half good! It was something that I would have never expected and to be honest it will probably be the reason why I will read the next book. The only sorta flaw I have about it is that I don’t understand how it works because it completely goes against the information that we know, However I like this because it will hopefully mean an interesting plot and character development in the next book.

Characters
Not all the “good characters” were “good”. And when I say that, I don’t mean there was a traitor among them. I just mean that Haru who is Madison’s husband, is a complete idiot. It just gives some diversity to the book which makes it pretty awesome.

Favourite Quotes

  • “Well, thanks for not shooting anyone, I guess”, said Marcus. “My contribution was to somehow refrain from peeing myself. You can thank me later”
  • “I’ve never been this wet in my life, ” said Kira. “Even immersed in a bathtub I swear I was dryer than I am now. ”
    “Look on the bright side, ” said Marcus.
    Kira waited.
    “This is the point at which you would traditionally suggest a bright side. ”
    “I’ve never been a real traditional guy,” said Marcus. “Besides, I’m not saying I know a bright side, I just think this would be a great time to look at one.”
  • “If you can’t know the truth, said Isolde, live the most awesome lie you can think off”
  • “I need a sample of your blood,’ said Kira.
    Marcus raised an eyebrow. ‘I didn’t know we’d reached that stage of our relationship”
  • “Was that the girl who went to Manhattan with you?” Asked Marcus. “I think we owe her a cookie” “I think we owe her a whole damn bakery” said Xochi”

Overall
This book wasn’t as good as I had hoped it would be just because usually I have high expectations. As to recommending it- if you feel like you could cope with my list of cons as well as others that you will probably discover, then read it. Overall though, I would give 3 shuriken stars: the “average” rating of dystopian books that I have been reading lately.

Leave a Reply

