Throne of Glass- Sarah J Maas

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)

You know the saying “Never judge a book by its cover?” I think it should be used more, When I was getting round to reading this book, I kept trying to put it off because I didn’t like the cover. It seemed like a book which would have a good concept and potential but would just fall flat because the main character was needy and annoying. While some people may agree with the latter, this character was in no way needy.

I’m rambling.

But what I’m trying to get across is that if you read the first few chapters, pages, 100 minus your age, 50 pages, or whatever rule you use; and still end up hating it, then just give up. But this book is a lot better than it looks 🙂

Summary (sorry in advance for the excessive use of brackets. Ironic how this is in brackets… :P)

There’s this girl called Celaena who, at the beginning, is in the salt mines prison because she was this awesome master assassin. Although she has been in prison for around a year (I think) she has no idea who betrayed her and got her captured.

Just to let you know – by the end of this book we still don’t know “how” she was captured, so being me and hating mysteries (which is why I can never read murder mystery stories!) I read all of the short stories straight after (review to come) and they revealed who betrayed her. (dun dun dun!)

She then strikes a deal with the Crown Prince Dorian: she must take part in a competition which, if she wins – after a few years secretly serving as the kings assassin – she will be free. This book focuses on the competition, however, then, some fellow competitors turn up dead.

Cons

Suspected love triangle
I just hope in the next book this doesn’t become a big thing because loads of books with loads of potential just get ruined by a love triangle.

Celaena
I personally loved her, but that doesn’t mean that there were faults with her that I can see other people having an issue with. She was quite – or very, in fact – arrogant. I personally found it amusing. However, she just seemed too perfect. She was a master assassin having trained for years, she loved to read, to go to the library, as well as look pretty and play games. We also know that she only started her training at around 10? (not entirely sure, but I think its around that age) and I just don’t understand how someone can have so many hobbies and be so skilled at killing.

Cover
I’ll call them cover 1 and cover 2 🙂 Cover 1 is the one nearer the top of the page and cover 2 is the one which is lower down the page.
Lets start in order with cover 1: it looks too artificial and like a chickflick and well, to be blunt – crap. “Oh look, I’m a pretty girl who has just been starving in the salt mines for months as I survive off non-nutritious food, but who cares if it’s not accurate as long as I look nice. I’ll just pretend to be strong by standing in a “strong” pose and flexing my arm which has basically nothing but skin on it and clenching my fist. I’m so strong!”
Now onto cover 2: “Move the hell outta the way or I will slash you down where you stand.”

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)Pros

Plot
Fast paced. Interesting. Complex. Fit well together. What more could you want?

Characters
It was just so strange how at one point I would be raving for the awesomeness of the character and then a few pages after I was hating that person. I kinda both loved and hated how the writer had the capacity to change our feelings so quickly and dramatically.
Celaena: Although I had a small paragraph about her in the “Cons”, there are still are few awesome parts of her that I think it would be a shame not to mention. She is one of those “strong female lead characters” but there is something different about her, as she wasn’t just a strong role, but she had a feminine side which just makes her a more well-rounded character.

The Concept
Come on! Thieves, Assassins, Murderers… etc. competing against each other for the ultimate prize, and then we weave in some magic and people start dying unexpectedly and then some awesome characters 🙂

Love Triangle
Don’t get me wrong I am not approving of the love triangle or love triangles in general, I would just like to say that, although a love triangle was present from almost the first few pages, it didn’t take over and dominate the book like a lot of other books tend to do. Instead it was done quite subtly and well… it wasn’t really a triangle at all as it wasn’t made that clear who liked who.

Excitement for the next book
So many unanswered questions, which I’m just going to blare out now, so, sorry if you haven’t read the book! (NB: some of these questions get answered in the short stories).

  • Where did the king go on the odd journey?
  • Why were all the guards dead after the odd journey?
  • Who exactly is Perrington?
  • How did she get caught?
  • Who betrayed her?
  • Who was Sam?
  • Is Arobynn still alive?
  • What is she going to be made to do?

The good thing is though, even though there are so many unanswered questions the book is coming out soon!

Favourite Quotes

  • “Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons”
  • “We all bear scars,… Mine just happen to be more visible than most”
  • “My name is Celaena Sardothien. But it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me”
  • “Sometimes, the wicked will tell us things just to confuse us–to haunt our thoughts long after we’ve faced them”
  • “Names are not important. It’s what lies inside of you that matters”

Overall
I loved this book. Although there were some flaws overall I still thought this book was great, as long as you are willing to put up with the “perfectness” and “arrogance” of Celaena even if the two characteristics contradict each other to a certain extent :P. When I read this book I was in a good mood, so I decided to give it 5 shuriken stars :).

Leave a Reply

