The Kill Order – James Dashner

The Kill Order (Maze Runner, #0.5)To be honest I was a little disappointed by the ending of the Death Cure partly due to the fact that Thomas’ best friend/ worst enemy, died and the evil annoying Brenda survived. So naturally, I was hoping that this book would explain the relationship between the two. It didn’t happen. But nonetheless it was a good book!

Summary
Spoilers to follow- but obvious spoilers.

Unlike what I thought it didn’t follow the story of Thomas and Teresa in their early years (ish.- it involves one of them for half the book). It  is set 13 years before the day that Thomas goes into the Glade and follows the story of Mark and Trina.

Wow. A lot of the main characters have T names!

So back to the story.

Trina and Mark are experiencing the world during/ after the sun flares. At first they are surviving just great! Then comes the evil people who shoot darts at people turning them dead or into what we call cranks now. So then Mark and Trina’s little gang run and get into all sorts of mess, and along the way pick up a kid who is immune (not telling who! :P) and then as you can expect they all die since we haven’t heard about them at all from the other books…

Cons
The Deaths
They were a little hurried. If I had just read them I may not have understood, but because my brother had read it before me, I knew what happened so yeah. I just thought it was a little hurried.

Pros
The last page
It included an awesome part at the back by James Dashner saying what his “Top ten things he’d want during the apocalypse”. It has The Kill Order. James Dashnerinspired me to make my own- to come probably!

Background of the background
In the book there is the background story of Mark and Trina and how they survived the apocalypse while it happened, and in the present they were coping with death and destruction. I’ve always wanted to use that in a sentence. Death and Destruction.

Action packed
As my brother put it. It was full of action as the title suggests and fast paced.

Madness
Losing your mind is scary, terrifying maybe and definitely hard to write, since people who go crazy, tend not to get better. But James Dashner did it perfectly. Each time something snapped within Mark’s head it was described so well and awesome and amazing and sad and depressing.

Character relationships
Dee Dee and Trina especially. It was adorable. Another character relationship which was adorable; Trina and Mark. They were so cute together! But I did want to know properly how they got together, because to me (I may have misread part or skipped out some by accident) at one point it was like they were just friends and then they were making out. But they were so cute!! And it tore me apart half way when Trina didn’t remember him ;(

Favorite Quotes

  • “Let’s get this started, people. It won’t be long before we all lose our minds”
  • “What would I do without you? I’d die of stress and depression before nature killed me”
  • “Mark thought that was all barking up the wrong tree. “Or they ran away from the fire. Not every person on earth is as wacky-brained as you, good sir. Most people see a huge roaring inferno coming at them? They decide to cut and run. Just saying”
  • “Though he’d never know for sure what had happened to them, his mind was super talented at imagining the absolute worst.”

Overall
Although this book wasn’t what I was really hoping for in terms of the plot, it still was amazing but depressing at the same time. 5 shuriken stars just like the other books in the series.

Leave a Reply

