Divergent (Photo #1) – Veronica Roth

The famous knife throwing scene of divergent now has an official photo.

AND I AM TORN.

On the one hand, I should have faith in the movie and apparently Shailene Woodley is a great Tris and it hasn’t even come out yet and I can’t judge it. But on the other hand…

She’s still not Tris to me.

It’s not even the fact that her hair is brown, I could care less about that, it’s just that I can’t see her as Tris. Granted, I’ve never seen her in anything, so she could be completely perfect, but when I look at that expression, I do not see Tris. Quite honestly, it has been a very long time since I read Divergent, but from what I remember, Tris had this unbreakable spirit and this cold demeanour and tried not to show fear and she was seemingly confident and blunt and unshakeable.

But I don’t see that here. It may just be me, but that expression does not sell me on Shailene Woodley playing Tris. I could be completely absolutely wrong, since it’s only one shot from a (what I’m presuming will be) hour and something movie.

I know I’m being a harsh judge from one picture, and I do have faith in the movie, and from what I’ve heard lots of people love the entire casting, so maybe I’m just being too sceptical.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by msnoseinabook on April 24, 2013 at 7:01 pm

    I feel the same way you do about Shailene Woodley playing Tris. Right when I heard she was cast I was like nooooooo! If I had to pick someone that I thought could play her it would be the girl from Revolution although she’s a little old for the part I think she looks pretty young in revolution but I think she sort of fits the picture I had in my mind. Maybe Chloe Moretz if she was a bit older. I dknow I’m right where you are on this…I’m trying not to be disappointed and maybe I’ll be totally wrong and she’ll be awesome but I guess we will see! In the meantime we can all be super excited about Alliegiant!

    Reply

  2. wow you got a lot from one pic… yeah i don’t know anything about her… but speaking of hair… how hard is it just dye her hair blond… but i guess it wasn’t that important… still i always thought as looking like some innocent little angel… and then turn out to be totally hard core…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

