Light- Michael Grant

Light (Gone, #6)Since my brother and I are fans of the Gone series, naturally we went as soon as the bookshop opened today to read it and asdfhaiefhaoeifh it was pre-signed by Michael Grant himself! Isn’t that awesome! For no extra cost as well! It was even £2 off! I’m so happy right now! But I’m sad and pissed off at the same time because my favourite character died. So basically kinda speechless, so I’m sorry if this review turns out to be crap.

Summary (Goodreads)- sorry!
It’s been over a year since all the adults disappeared. Gone.

In the time since every person over the age of fourteen disappeared from the town of Perdido Beach, California, countless battles have been fought: battles against hunger and lies and plague, and epic battles of good against evil. And now, the gaiaphage has been reborn as Diana’s malicious mutant daughter, Gaia. Gaia is endlessly hungry for destruction. She yearns to conquer her Nemesis, Little Pete, and then bend the entire world to her warped will. As long-standing enemies become allies, secrets are revealed and unexpected sacrifices are made. Will their attempts to save themselves and one another matter in the end, or will the kids of Perdido Beach perish in this final power struggle?

Light, the sixth and final book in the New York Times bestselling Gone series by Michael Grant, creates a masterful, arresting conclusion to life in the FAYZ.

Cons
The series has ended 😦
But in a way this is kinda a good thing, because to be honest the series was getting a little long and stretched out. But no…. I’ve been there since it started, and I can’t and don’t want to say goodbye to the characters that I’ve grown to love and hate.. Even though my most favourite character dies in this (I’ll give you a clue. It’s one of the big four.)

I want to know more!
I want to know about the experimental labs, Connie, Caine, Gaia, what happened to Little Pete, the survivors, Toto, why Sam didn’t have the evil feel towards him, etc.

The blaze of glory
I just felt that it was a little hurried. All through the book it was working up till that moment, and to be honest, I didn’t feel it until I read the next page which had the consequences. It reminded me a little of Rue’s death in the Hunger Games.

Disgusting scenes
Compared to other books there weren’t as many disgusting scenes. I mean, yeah there’s a graphic description of eyes being gouged out and burning holes through bodies, but there wasn’t actually much really really disgusting stuff- the kind of stuff that makes you want to throw up. Compared to Fear this was a field through of daisies. I mean, after reading fear, I couldn’t look at some sweets in the same way as before. But after reading this book, I have to say, even though I hate saying it… I was a little disappointed at the non-icky-ness 😦

Sam
This isn’t really a con in the sense of the book, but I really do need to let my anger out about him. (spoilers/ spoiler hints may follow)
All the others of the big four offered themselves up but he didn’t. It annoyed me so much. He is such a idiot. Stupid. (awesome people will get the stupid reference/ people who have read the book). He deserves to rot in prison. I dislike him. And all the time even up to the end he is the one who everyone trusts and is considered the hero. NB. Dark Knight references to come. He is the Harvey Dent and his “evil” twin brother is the Dark Knight.

Pros
The covers!
I’m just going to use this little paragraph to say thanks to Michael Grant for writing this awesome series and for making the covers look awesome on my bookshelf.
securedownload

Epic
It was just epic. Although there were parts of it that I didn’t like, it was epic. Mainly because of all the fight scenes.

The Outside
When I read stuff like this on the news (well… not exactly like this, but you get what I mean) I’m always the outsider looking in on it. How those kids are criminals because they killed and betrayed the law and therefore are a danger to the other people and therefore should be sent to prison. However, looking at it though the kids point of view is a totally another question. It seems so different that way and is going to change the way I look at something, because after reading the hell they’ve been though for the past six books, it seems stupid and selfish to chuck them into prison for trying to survive. So yeah. Sorry. I’m rambling. I’m still kinda in awe of this book. My point is basically that we see it through the eyes of the “criminals” who in their own world are the “heroes”. Funny how things can just all merge into one.

The plot
Compared to the other books it was a lot more thought out. In lots of the other parts there were sudden twists that were just pulled out of thin air, which did annoy me a little. But this book was different. From the start I felt that there was actually a plot, everything was all working towards one thing that would happen, and it did. The ending was Epic. With a capital E just to show how Epic it is.

Couples
I’m not usually one to splutter over cute couples, but hey ho I can always try something new every day! The couples were so cute… Brinanna and Dekka. Caine and Diana. Sam and Astrid. Edilio and Roger. So cute. It’s ashame that half of the couples are broken by the end of it.
haha. My endgame. I will keep you in suspense until you read the book.

Gaia
Best. Villain. Ever.

This picture

I found it off http://gaiaphage.com and it is freaking awesome!

Pons/ Cros
Basically this is a section about stuff that I didn’t want to put into the pros or the cons for fear of offending someone.

I thought it was ironic in places (at least I interpreted them ironically because of my beliefs) in places to do with religion. It’s just one of those things that puts religion in a different light. Like how the bible is from a Christian viewpoint, but if it was written again from a Atheist’s viewpoint, yeah I guess it’s unlikely, but the story would be interpreted differently.

Favourite Quotes

  • Evil. It’s in all of us. You know that, too. It was in you. I saw it in your eyes as you looked down at me in that cooler. Evil, hah. We all want to have someone powerless beneath us while we stand over them.”
  • “I realised, when I saw the forest burning, how fascinating the firelight is. It’s beautiful  and the people stare at it, don’t they? It destroys things and kills people, but humans love it. It is because they crave their own destruction?”
  • “Freedom’s just another word for nothing left to lose”
  • Sit! Lana roared. To Lana’s amazement, Brianna sat. So did Patrick”
  • “You’re insane!
    Compared to what? I haven’t got out much”
  • “Edilio had brought reality with him. And reality had a bad feel.”
  • “She was just that kind of girl: hate at first sight.”

Overall
Although I loved this book, and I hate saying this, but it isn’t quite up to the 5 stars rating :(. I really wanted it to be, and maybe that was the problem because there’s all that psychological thing about making it seem better in your head and then getting disappointed. So maybe that was it. Anyway, I would probably give it 4 shuriken stars 😛

4 responses to this post.

  1. SPOILERS.
    Actually Sam did try to kill himself loads. He first tried to shoot himself with Lana’s gun then he tried to burst an artery then tried to get Edilio to shoot him then tried to shoot himself and was going to convince Quinn to do it for him. And the only reason he never managed it was because it was actually better if he survived, since he was the strongest fighter and one of their only chances at winning, that and he was, you know, the sanest one there. Astrid was WAY less suicidal than Sam.
    “I owe you, Quinn.”
    “I’m sorry I didn’t get him,” Quinn answered.
    Sam shook his head. “Man, don’t ever be sorry you don’t want to kill someone.” – quoted directly from the first book.
    If you had said you hated Sam for being really HORNY, however, I might have agreed with you. Geez, Sam and Caine really wanted to have sex so badly in this book.
    (btw, to anyone reading this, this is Weishi, the other person who runs this blog with Yanni, she’s not just having a conversation with herself.)
    (Actually, no, I take that back. Yanni is gollum, she has split personalities, this is her arguing with herself.)

    Reply

  2. […] Discombobulated Books “It was just epic.” […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

