A Thousand Splendid Suns- Khaled Hosseini

A Thousand Splendid SunsWOW. That was a good book. In fact it was better than good. It’s like. WHOA. On Goodreads it has 4.28 stars. That obviously is amazing. (Sorry if it sounds sarcastic, it wasn’t supposed to)
Credit to my friends at school for making me read and mourn over it.
It makes me feel numb.
So sorry if this review turns out to be crap.

Summary
I would use the summary off Goodreads to avoid spoilers but I feel as if that summary has in a way too many spoilers; ie. I could guess some sad parts in the book without having to read it.

It follows mainly the story of Mariam and is told in a period of two generations. The book is split into three sections.
The first section follows Maraim as a young girl and her obsession with her dad who in the end turned out to be the jerkiest jerk- although the ending did make me sad. When she was a kid she especially wanted to be taken to her father’s cinema to see Pinocchio however, he wouldn’t let her as she was his illegitimate child. She later is forced to marry a man a generation older than her called Rasheed.
The second section of the story follows Laila who is a young girl who lives in the same village as Mariam. She falls for this guy called Tariq, and they are one of the cutest couples in existant. However, then some stuff happens, and she marries Rasheed.
Part three involves the life of Mariam and Laila together and how they develop a mother daughter relationship.

Cons
(Sorry in advance for the use of capitals) IT RIPPED MY HEART OUT 
Well. Actually maybe not as much as I made out, because I was prepared for it.
There was this one part in the middle that just made me just about die on the inside.
And then the ending melted me.

Pros
Historical Fiction
I say this about all books which are historical, but I feel as for this book it stands out more than for others. It’s probably because this isn’t very historical, or fiction. Some parts of this story are still happening all over the world; men abusing women, women having almost no rights, war, fighting, death, etc. It’s relevant, and that just makes it even sadder.

PoV
It was awesome how we got to experience the PoV of both Mariam and Laila. But at the same time I kinda hated it because it made me bond too much with them… so each time they experience sadness- I start to feel depressed. ;(

Different from what I usually read
As the sub-title suggests  it was different from what I usually read. This book has no zombies, no vampires, no ghosts, no werewolves, no murder(ish). But it does have one thing in common; violence. But in a different way; not like tearing your throat out and drinking your blood, but more like “do as I say or I’ll chuck your daughter out onto the streets”

Myself
Reading a book like this makes me look at myself and then think about all the different lives that we lead. If I were in the book I’d be already married and having children. It kinda freaks me out. And also makes me think. Why the hell do I keep complaining about “being bored” or “getting up early for school” when loads of people in this world don’t even have those opportunities. Sometimes… I really dislike myself.

Then the usual again:
Plot
Characters (I wish I could expand… but even the littlest thing such as tenses can give something away to someone reading it)
Writing Style

Favourite Quotes

  • “One could not count the moons that shimmer on her roofs,
    Or the thousand splendid suns that hide behind her walls”
  • “Of all the hardships a person had to face, none was more punishing than the simple act of waiting”
  • “I will follow you to the ends of the world”
  • “This was a legitimate end to a life of illegitimate belongings”
  • “Mariam lay on the couch, hands tucked between her knees, watched the whirlpool of snow twisting and spinning outside the window. She remembered Nana saying once that each snowflake was a sigh heaved by an aggrieved woman somewhere in the world. That all the sighs drifted up the sky, gathered into clouds, then broke into tiny pieces that fell silently on the people below. As a reminder of how people like us suffer, she’d said. How quietly we endure all that falls upon us.”
  • “Boys, Laila came to see, treated friendship the way they treated the sun: its existence undisputed; its radiance best enjoyed, not beheld directly”

Overall
I haven’t rated a book 5 stars in a long time, but this book deserves it. 5 Shuriken Stars. Not a star lower.
I personally would recommend it to anyone. So yes. If you haven’t read this book. Do yourself a disfavour and read this book. It will tear your heart out. But at least then at the end you can be more… er… “updated with current affairs”? Or.. You could write it on your CV!
Anyway, the messages it basically. Read. This. Book.

7 responses to this post.

  1. The ending bugged me. The person I thought really deserved a break just got shafted which i suppose is realistic but apart from that it was great

    Reply

    • I know right just as I thought everything would be all right and happy… ;( I think it was the middle part that really depressed me though. But I guess, as you said, it’s more realistic, I wish it wasn’t though, it just depresses me further :O

      Reply

  2. I couldn’t finish it. Maybe I will soon. So sad.

    Reply

  3. Posted by thatvoiceinsidemyhead on March 22, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE i love this book!!!!

    Reply

    • AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
      you’re awesome!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

