The Other Life- Susanne Winnacker

The Other Life (The Other Life, #1)Just in case you didn’t know, this website is run by two people: Me (Yanni) and my bezzie mate Weishi. And of course we have different writing styles, my ones mainly using lots of “…”
Because she was procrastinating all through half term Weishi decided to go through all our (mainly my ones) reviews and change all my grammatical mistakes!
She especially complained about my use of “…” (all through biology today… -_-)
So this review. Just for you Weishi, there will be no “…” besides these 😛

Summary
From Goodreads:

3 years, 1 month, 1 week and 6 days since I’d seen daylight. One-fifth of my life. 98,409,602 seconds since the heavy, steel door had fallen shut and sealed us off from the world

Sherry has lived with her family in a sealed bunker since things went wrong up above. But when they run out of food, Sherry and her dad must venture outside. There they find a world of devastation, desolation…and the Weepers: savage, mutant killers.

When Sherry’s dad is snatched, she joins forces with gorgeous but troubled Joshua – an Avenger, determined to destroy the Weepers.

But can Sherry keep her family and Joshua safe, when his desire for vengeance threatens them all?

Cons
There’s a sequel
It kinda mystifies me because if the writer chose to end the book slightly differently then it would have made a great stand-alone book (which nowadays is a category far too small for my liking) I’m just a little worried that the second book won’t live up to this book’s standard. But then again I worried about that with Neal Shusterman’s Unwind and Unwholly and they turned out to be one of the best books ever!

The Blurb
Tbh Joshua isn’t actually that obsessed with revenge. It’s only a little, and he only puts then in danger once. Only once.

Not enough gore
It was fast and racing, but in my opinion anyway there wasn’t enough gore for a book about Weepers/ zombie-ish creatures.

Pros
I am Legend
It reminded me just a little. No. Maybe a lot. of I am Legend, and this is a good thing because it’s one of the best movies ever made! I think it was mainly the zombie-ish creatures which reminded me of it, as each time I pictured them all I could see was the creatures in the film. It was awesome!

The Cover
I can’t stop going on about how awesome this cover is. In school I just about wave it in front of people’s faces telling it to the world.
It’s like at first it’s a butterfly! Then as you look closer, it’s a blood butterfly! Then it’s a people dripping blood butterfly! Then it’s a dead people dripping blood butterfly! Then it’s a dead butterfly dripping blood chasing life people! It’s so cool!!!
And that’s just about the butterfly!
There’s also a city, which is like “The Other Life” and the barbed wire also like “The Other Life”. Awesome right?

Evil Government Organisation
Evil people. Spoilers-ish to come
Have you ever thought how the government could be hiding something from us? Like we read it in books and everything; where the government has some sort of evil experiment which then gets out of hand, and then when people start dying they don’t lift a finger to help… – because then they would be admitting that they failed and that their society isn’t as good as people think; for example, in Russia, where the government said that there was no crime and so they refused to recognise it and so people did all sorts of illegal stuff. So. What if our government is doing that right now?

And all the other usual Pros:
Plot
Characters
Writing style
etc.

Favourite Quotes

  • “3 years, 1 month, 1 week and 6 days since I’d seen daylight. One-fifth of my life. 98,409,602 seconds since the heavy, steel door had fallen shut and sealed us off from the world” (from the blurb but hey ho!)
  • “I didn’t even know if any of my friends were still alive. What had they looked like? They were nothing but a fading memory” ;( I’d go crazy if that had happened to me
  • “”Every member of this family could recite the entire movie by heart” I wonder what movie this is? Could it be? Could it be? Nope. It’s Ariel. That movie about mermaids swimming and walking (I’ve never seen it- yup I may have no childhood)
  • “I do care. That’s why I hunt them. But if you’ve seen what I have, then you learn to deal with the murders and disappearances. You learn to push it aside and move on. The other life isn’t here any more  This new world has its own rules. Survival of the fittest is one of them. If you’re hoping for kindness and pity, don’t hold your breath.”

Overall
Well, I can be a little biased towards the living dead (but they don’t actually have to be zombies) but this book I have to say deserves the 4.5 shuriken stars that I’m going to give it.
It combined all of my favourite things: the living dead, a tiny amount of romance, a government plot, the world ending, gore, etc.
But if you hate all the things that I mentioned above, forget this review, forget this book as it would probably only convince you that you are the living dead for not having a heart 😛

Leave a Reply

