Dark Inside- Jeyn Roberts

Dark Inside (Dark Inside, #1)Seriously. This. Book. Frustrated. Me. So. So. So. Much.

The blurb of my book told me what happened on the LAST FEW PAGES…?!

I first picked up this book because I liked the cover… Yeah I know, “Don’t judge a book by its cover”, I try… but still… ANYWAY. So I started reading it and I found I was getting more and more frustrated as I read it. To be honest, I really really wanted to like it, because it just seemed like a me type of book (come on… A world gone mad, people getting possessed, gore, EXACTLY what I usually like to read). But as I was reading it, I was just getting annoyed because what happened on the blurb of my copy… just didn’t happen. UNTIL THE LAST 30 PAGES. Where the characters FINALLY meet like it says on the blurb.

Summary
Just read the blurb of the hardback copies (or read this goodreads-afied copy- which is still one of the blurbs, but just a better version)

Since the beginning of mankind, civilizations have fallen: the Romans, the Greeks, the Aztecs…and now us. Huge earthquakes rock the world. Cities are destroyed. But something even more awful is happening: An ancient evil has been unleashed, and it’s turning everyday people into hunters, killers, and crazies. This is the world Mason, Aries, Clementine, and Michael are living in–or rather, trying to survive. Each is fleeing unspeakable horror, from murderous chaos to brutal natural disasters, and each is travelling the same road in a world gone mad. Amid the throes of the apocalypse and clinging to love and meaning wherever it can be found, these four teens are on a journey into the heart of darkness–and to find each other and a place of safety.

Cons
THE BLURB
Yeah, I know, I ranted about this above… BUT I’M NOT DONE YET!!!
Why would you put something on the blurb of a book when it doesn’t happen until THE LAST 30 PAGES??? But the thing is, it’s not even a spoiler… It was just me waiting for the moment where all the characters meet, FOR THE WHOLE BOOK.

Fire. Melting.
Note. this actually has nothing to do with fire or melting. I just like the words :). But it does kinda link.
The characters just merged/ melted together. Throughout the book I kept forgetting which person had which story; and that isn’t because I read it over a few days, I actually managed to read it over a weekend 😉

The characters
Is it bad if when I was reading it, they all just merged into one? It was just a little confusing. I mean all their substories were completely different, but when I was reading it I just kept forgetting who was  who.

Pros
The writing style
I bet you’re surprised that there are Pros about this book even though I ranted about how annoying parts of this book was for a whole paragraph. 😛
So yeah, I liked the writing style. It was fast paced and it literally (I’m not even exaggerating) made my heart race. I was reading it in bed one night and I was literally shaking and jumping (well… as much as you can while sitting down) because each time a chapter ended there was some sort of massive cliffhanger which might have maybe made me skip ahead a little to see what happens… Yup. I’m one of those people who can’t not give into the temptation to read ahead. I’m not proud of it. 😦

The idea
So yeah, the concept was good. Sorta like “I am number four” but with the aliens being the bad guys and the  bad guys infecting all the good guys and then the bad guys ripping apart all the good guys that are left… So nothing like “I am number four” I guess I was just thinking of the aliens living “peacefully” around us.

I’m running out of Pros…

The Cover?
The cover was cool I guess, its not the best I’ve ever seen… but it certainly isn’t the worst. I still like it though I guess.

The title was cool
It was like referring to the darkness inside people and the darkness inside the world?

Quotes

  • “I knew they would find me. I’m glowing in the moonlight.My darkness was too bright to hide forever. They’ll find all of us eventually. They play the odds and they’re up a thousand to one”

Overall
So it was an okay book. You should read it if you like YA fiction and don’t mind some gore, I just got frustrated because of the blurb, so if you don’t mind stuff like that or are already prepared, you should read it. Wow. That was a long sentence… So I’m unlikely to be reading the sequel unless people say it is amazingly good… 3 shuriken stars.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Lol Marketing Fail! I’m off to read the blurb 😉 Awesome review!

    Reply

  2. Frustrating!!!! It’s one of the things I’m scared of. . . having a spoiler revealed on the back cover!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Marisa on April 14, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    I thought the exact same thing about the characters! I read it in one sitting and I still had to go back and look at who was who, and what their story was! I thought they were all going to get together too, and I was kinda surprised when I found out who Nothing was. All in all, I thought it was a very good and enlightening book. I haven’t looked at the world or people the same since.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

