Flesh and Bone – Jonathan Maberry

So as yesterday was supposed to be the “apocalypse” here’s a review of what could have happened ūüėõ

Flesh & Bone (Benny Imura, #3)I hate you Jonathan Maberry. First you kill off my favourite character. Then you kill off my second favourite character… ;( WHY?!?!?! Why do you have to be such a good author and who then makes your readers suffer. And then you make me depressed and sad for characters who are already dead. WHY?
I have so many feelings.
But on a slightly calmer note (hopefully) here’s the summary:

Summary
Benny, Nix, Chong and Lilah are still in the Rot and Ruin. Benny goes off because he’s still sad about Tom and because he is so smart and such a “hero” he falls into a ravine full of zombies who want to bite him! While he is in the ravine he sees this girl who is still alive about to fall and get eaten, so of course he goes all macho and tries to save her, but in the end his friends end up saving him. So then they have a new mystery on their hands; who the girl is and where her family is. So to cut a long story short and to avoid spoilers; They get split up and they find themselves in the middle of a “war” between humans (NB not zombies). And lets just say in this war, there is no good guys… And everyone; the good guys, the bad guys, the zombies (kinda), EVERYONE, is trying to reach this place called Sanctuary.

Cons
er… This is the rare¬†occasion¬†where I can’t think of any…

Pros
Cover
I’ve always loved the Benny Imura covers, and by covers, I mean the UK ones. And I guess the US ones…. But not as much, I think I got put of mainly because it had someone’s face on the first book… (I don’t¬†particularly¬†like books with real people on it…), and also the UK covers are so much brighter, and more lively!!!

Dead and Gone
It was the short story given between Dust and Decay and this book. I read it a while ago and I think it really helped actually! It tells the story of Riot, the new character introduced, and it gives a lot of background information and I would definitely recommend it! But it did give me some ideas of what was going to happen (so maybe you should read it after?)

The bad guys
AKA the really weirdly obsessively religious people who think killing is what is the right and moral thing to do.
So you might be thinking why this is in the pros section…
WELL…
If the zombie apocalypse actually happened; I can actually imagine this happening. There would be people who would go kinda weird and think that zombies means lets kill everyone on the planet! So Jonathan Maberry has captured this PERFECTLY. Either that or I have been brainwashed by him ūüôā

The Ending
To be honest I’m not sure whether this should go in the cons or pros… It was a such a good ending but at the same time it tore my heart out ;( In fact. It RIPPED my heart out.

;(
There’s no other way of describing this paragraph. It’s just full of tears and depression.
First he kills my favourite character. Then he kills my second favourite character. Then he makes my feel so sad for characters who are already dead.
Tom ;(. He was going to propose… ;( and Mrs Riley… ;(

Favourite Quotes

  • “The whole world turned into an all-you-can-eat buffet”
  • “He never did get right all the way again. And every once in a while he’d come down all bitey”
  • “Death is like that. Relentlessly efficient”
  • “What the hell was that all about?” he asked the elk.
    The elk, being and elk, said nothing.”
  • “When Chong made to sit down next to her, Lilah drew her knife and stabbed the point into the earth between them.
    “I can see that you need some quiet time,” he said and scuttled quickly away.”

Summary
So what are you thinking? 3 stars? 4 stars? 5 stars?
No question. It’s a zombie book. That will just explain everything. 5 shuriken stars.¬†Definitely¬†worth a read; but probably after reading the other books; Rot and Ruin and Dust and Decay and Dead and Gone- the short story.

Leave a Reply

