Matched – Ally Condie

Matched (Matched, #1)Welcome to Weishi-totally-forgetting-to-review-a-book-ages-ago-and-now-not-remembering-anything-that-happened part 1. Part 1? I’m not sure. This happens a lot, I can’t really call it part 1. But it’s definitely not going to be the last time this happens.

Ok, I’m going to be honest with you. I like romance in books. When it’s done well, I will love the romance in a book. However, a book with just romance, and nothing else? Not really my type.

If you want to read this, then go ahead, it’s great. Just not for me.

That did not detract from it’s greatness, though.

Summary

Cassia lives in a society where they basically have arranged marriages and stuff. She meets this guy and falls in love.

Cons

I didn’t really see the romance

Sure, Cassia did seem to really like Ky. But I saw no difference between liking him and falling in love with him. Maybe it’s just me, but the romantic scenes did not show me any head-over-heels in love with Ky happening.

Predictable

Yep, you can tell what’s going to happen from the beginning. Apart from the pills thing at the very end. Less predictable, but not really a major twist.

Pros

Characters

Pretty awesome. I loved Xander from the get go, which was a nice change. I usually don’t like the third point of the love triangle. I think I liked him at least, I can’t remember.

Writing Style

Ok, here’s a little insight on the people who run this blog.

Yanni – She really likes fast, writing styles where it’s constant action and everything moves at a breakneck pace, so it’s constantly moving. Short sentences, really snappy, constantly not knowing what’s going to happen next and never letting you go. (E.g. Virals, Ender’s Game)

Me (Weishi) – While I do like those types of actiony styles, I am completely in love with good descriptive writing. Writing that is simple, yet paints vivid, beautiful and almost haunting images. Not overused, either, and not so long winded that it becomes ridiculous and you’re sitting there waiting for the plot. (E.g. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak has one of the most beautiful writing styles I’ve seen).

  • “Our time together feels like a storm, like wild wind and rain, like something too big to handle but too powerful to escape. It blows around me and tangles my hair, leaves water on my face, makes me know that I am alive, alive, alive. There are moments of calm and pause as there are in every storm, and moments when our words fork lightening, at least for each other.” – Matched

Ally Condie has this way with words that is so thoughtful, and beautiful. There are images that linger from the book that I love. Ky with tears on his face in the middle of the cinema, is the first one that comes to mind. It’s been so long since I read this book, that I can barely remember it, but I remember loving her way with words.

Plot

Was pretty good. Still can’t really remember what happened.

I should review books straight after I’ve read them. This is why.

Oh, I do like how mysterious Ky was. That was cool. And I loved all the drawings he made for Cassia. They were so beautiful, and so cleverly done by Ally Condie.

Wow, this has been an in depth review (sarcasm, honestly).

Quotes

  • “Every minute you spend with someone gives them a part of your life and takes part of theirs.”
  • “Now that I’ve found the way to fly, which direction should I go into the night?”
  • “We could have been happy. I know that, and it is perhaps the hardest thing to know.”
  • “That’s how I know they are dreams. Because the simple and plain and everyday things are the ones that we can never have.”

Overall

I will give this… Hmmm…

I don’t know. I did think it was good, it just wasn’t my type of book. I don’t like romances that much, but I did love the writing style.

Hmmm.

3 1/2 shuriken stars. I might change my mind about that, but for now it is what it is.

Read it if you want! Even if it is just to absorb that gorgeous writing.

Leave a Reply

