The Hunt- Andrew Fukuda

The Hunt (The Hunt, #1)HOLY MOLY.
THIS BOOK IS THE DEFINITION ON AWESOMENESS
IT HAS NOW MADE MY ALL TIME FAVOURITE
5 SHURIKEN STARS (<–reading over this now, I realised that I was so psyched up about  it that I put it at the beginning of the review, rather than the end…)
I CAN’T BELIEVE THAT THE AUTHOR LEFT US HANGING ON THAT ENDING

THIS WAS SUCH A GOOD BOOK.
I’m now waiting anxiously for the next book in the series…

Summary
TWIST.
It’s a world full of vampires, and there are very few humans left, or as they are known to the vampires, hepers. The story is mainly about this guy called Gene, except you don’t know that his name is Gene until the middle of the book (unless you read the blurb 😉 ). He gets chosen to go on the Heper Hunt (hence the title) which happens every ten years or so? (I think) because of political reasons. And he gets the “opportunity” to hunt down some of the remaining humans, and by hunt, I mean kill, eat, drink, until there are nothing but bones left. Lovely. And he has to do this hunt without his fellow competitors finding out that he is human. So that means no sweating, no flinching, no sleeping in the night, no eating normal food (food consisted of bloody meat…), and having to keep up with their fast running pace (and remember, middle of summer, running very fast, no sweating?). Oh and this is before the Hunt actually starts… And because he doesn’t have any water on him, he befriends the hepers, and then feels guilty, so helps them in the hunt.

Cons
The new ideas about vampires (some of the ideas anyway…)
I didn’t like how they made out… Yeah I guess their fangs may get in the way if they tried to kiss… But seriously? How is shoving someone’s elbow into someone’s armpit going to make them feel good? It’s just weird… But I didn’t mind the other new ideas about the vampires, such as the wrist scratching, I just thought it was interesting. But it did also seem like the writer was trying a little too hard to make his book unique… which it already was, because of the twist!

The UK cover
I know this is only a small thing, and it didn’t make my enjoyment of the book less or anything, I just don’t really like the UK cover… I’m one of those people who get put off by books with people on the front, I just don’t like how we can’t imagine it, and it is already there. Note. the picture on this review is the US cover, because I thought it looked nicer 😉 , if you want to see the UK cover just go to goodreads or something.

Pros
Character Development
I know this happens in all books, but HOLY MOLY this book is completely different… It was just awesome how Gene and Ashley June changed, more Gene than Ashley June though…

A whole new different perspective on things (and by this, I mean in the world. the real world, not the vampired world)
Small things such as Ashley June’s name; how it can be interpreted as Ashley June. Right… Not really making much sense I just realised… 🙂 Ash-ly (fire?) in June (the month?)
and other things like how different it is to have a world full of vampires as opposed to a world full of humans, and I don’t mean that in the obvious way, I mean it in the way that can be true… such as how in a world full of vampires, where there are few humans, the humans are exaggerated in vampire terms (such as they are stupid creatures that can’t read and write… – by writing this review, I am already proving them wrong) and it can also be the opposite; in a world full of humans vampires are exaggerated; they are so pale that they don’t show up in mirrors, they have enough self control to be around humans, they hate smell so much that garlic and ward them away (I’ll add the exact quote underneath).

The TWIST
Yes. I felt the need to put it in capital letters. That’s how good the book is!!!
So yeah, I loved the twist; a world full of vampires, rather than a world full of humans. I’m surprised no one else has come up with a idea like that, that I have read.

The vampires aren’t sparkly in the sunshine!!!
YAY! He got his vampire facts right!!!

The ending
HOW COULD FUKUDA END THE BOOK ON SUCH A HAKHJSDFLASJFS ENDING???!!! NOW WE HAVE TO WAIT ALMOST A WHOLE YEAR TO READ THE SECOND (and by almost a whole year, I mean just under 6 months). WHY??!?!?!?!?!?!!?!? AND IT BRINGS UP SO MANY QUESTIONS!!!!!! I can’t say anymore… or I will give stuff away…

Favourite Quotes

  • “I remember the Hunt from ten years ago. How for months afterward I didn’t dare fall asleep because of the nightmares that would invade my mind: hideous images of an imagines Hunt, wet and violent and full of blood. Horrific cries of fear and panic, the sound of flesh ripped and bones crushed puncturing the night stillness.”
  • “Eleven years ago, one was discovered in my school. A kindergarten student, on her first day. She was devoured almost immediately. What was she thinking? Maybe the sudden (and it’s always sudden) loneliness at home drove her to school under some misbegotten idea that she’d find companionship. The teacher announced nap time, and the little tyke was left standing alone on the floor clutching her teddy bear as her classmates leaped feetfirst toward the ceiling. At that point, it was over for her. Over. She might as well have taken out her fake fangs and prostrated herself for the inevitable feasting. Her classmates stared down wide-eyed from above: Hello, what have we here?She started to cry, they tell me, bawl her eyes out. The teacher was the first to get to her.”
  • “You’re alone now, my son”
  • Never forget who you are. I never knew why my father would say that. Because it’s like saying don’t forget water is wet, the sun is bright, snow is cold. It’s redundant. There’s no way I could ever forget who I am. I’m reminded every moment of every day. Every time I shave my legs or hold in a sneeze or stifle a laugh or pretend to flinch at a slip of stray light, I am reminded of who I am.
    A fake person.”
  • “Call my picky, but imminent death at the hands (or teeth) of a friend who would suckle blood out of you at the drop of a hat…that throws a monkey wrench into friendship building.”
  • “Everything the Director says about the hepers has the ring of truth and a learned authority about it, but I suspect it’s nothing more than speculative nonsense. I suppose it’s easy to so widely miss the mark when it comes to hepers, to quickly slide from honest scientific enquiry to unsubstanciated theories. After all if the roles were reversed and it was people who became extinct, people theories would likely be rifle with exaggerations and distortions: instead of sleeping in sleepholds, they’d sleep in coffins; creatures of the night, they’d be so invisible to the eye, that even in front of mirrors, they’d lack a reflection; pale and emaciated, they were weak and benign beings who could coexist peacefully alongside hepers, somehow restraining themselves from ripping hepers to ribbons and sucking down their blood; they’d all invariably be incredibly good-looking with perfect hair. There’d probably be some outright confabulations as well: their ability to swim with dizzying speed under water; and ludicrous and laughable notions about people-heper romances.” (note. COUGH. TWILIGHT. COUGH.)

Overall
THIS IS AN AMAZING BOOK! If you still aren’t convinced, about it, READ IT! <– I was going to put some sort of threat down, but then my mind suddenly blanked out…
So, as I kinda, said above… 5 shuriken stars!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by blackbeast35 on January 1, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    so i read the summary of the second book. (well not really summary) but the back of the book. eeeeehhhhhnyway…. IT WAS TERRIBLE…. as i strained my eyes onto my computer screen expecting a glorious summary, i am slapped in the face by how AWFUL the new book sounds. if you hadn’t read it… it pretty much says that he feels guilt about leaving Ashley, but then forgets all of that guilt as his male hormones attract him to Sissy. He becomes a mindless zombie guided by the wrong head and loses interest in all life around him

    Reply

    • IKR! And have you seen the new cover of the next book? because if I saw it in a bookshop, I would not think that it has anything to do with vampires… Basically if you haven’t its this girl with a massive poofy dress and its blue
      I hate to say it, but it looks as if this amazing vampire who don’t sparkle book is turning into a twilight vampiresfallinginglove book… 😦
      on a side note; zombies are awesome. just not this type. 😛

      Reply

  2. Posted by blackbeast35 on January 1, 2013 at 10:12 pm

    i mean like
    FUCK SISSY (not literally, gene, or literally if you want to)
    AND AFTER YOU R DONE WITH THAT, GET DRESSED, PUT UR BIG-BOY PANTS BACK ON, AND GO SAVE ASHLEY……
    i mean like, Jesus man…. if this story comes out bad, i’m going to be so mad at gene
    (can’t be mad at Andrew Fukuda because of his awesome name)

    Reply

    • His name is pretty awesome 😛
      This book will have to be amazing. It can’t afford not to be. Otherwise the vampire genre will always be a laughing stock… WHICH CANNOT HAPPEN.
      On the other, more angry note:
      GENE IS SUCH A DOUCHE. ASHLEY THE GIRL WHO SAVED HIM IS LOCKED UP TRYING TO NOT GET TORN APART BY VAMPIRES, WHEN HE’S GOING TO BE FALLING AND MESSING WITH SISSY. SUCH A DOUCHE.

      Reply

      • Posted by blackbeast35 on January 3, 2013 at 3:01 am

        I totally agree with you about vampires and gene. but i do not like zombies unless they are in movies… i couldn’t read the enemy….. maybe not because of the idea but because of the dialog… its all he said, she said, he asked, they asked, he screamed… there were no smooth conversations

      • Aw… that’s a shame 😦
        But to an extent I do agree with you; I didn’t really like the enemy because they weren’t really zombies but then the author said they were zombies then said that they weren’t zombies… so that kinda annoyed me… and another thing about it was that it was too much blood and guts and killing and dying…
        I prefer other zombie books that are more thoughtful; like Rot and Ruin; which was more about how zombies used to be people and how we shouldn’t kill them..
        Sorry, I just had to let all my zombie love vs hate out. 😛

Leave a Reply

