0.4/ Human.4- Mike A. Lancaster

0.4 (Point 4, #1)I am mind blown.
This is an amazing book.
I feel like I’m still in a state of shock…
You can probably tell from all these lines that I are using…
So this review might be a little rambling….

The title for this review is 0.4/ Human.4, because I don’t know the real name for this book… πŸ˜› On the copy that I had it was 0.4, but on goodreads it’s Human.4. So I don’t really know…? But I’ll probably refer to it as 0.4 because I prefer that name, as I feel Human.4 somehow gives away more of the plot, and 0.4 just seems more mysterious… πŸ˜€

Summary!!!
So the main character is this guy called Kyle, and this book is his story. The book is written like it’s a tape (this may not make sense… but it will once you have read the book). Kyle volunteers (stupidly… in my opinion), to be hyponised by his “friend” Danny, at the local fair… Which was a mistake. When he wakes up, the world is completely different. His family and friends start acting really weird… and before long he is on the run. The rest of the story explains his story, and how he accepts what he is, and what his life is like. And it finishes… ;(

Cons
Missing out some parts
The one thing that I felt was missing from this was that Kyle never explained to Lily why he broke them up… I really felt that it should have been introduced, at least briefly… and I don’t even like romantic books… It just felt that something was missing…

Danny?
I just don’t quite understand him… Why did he do what he did? Was he an upgraded person? Or just a normal person? I HAVE NO IDEA?!!!

Pros
It’s a nice easy quick read
That’s it. Exactly what the title/ subtitle/ mini title (you get the picture) says. It was a nice easy quick read.

Location
I loved how the author used where he lived to base his book. I thought that was quite cool πŸ™‚ . And in a way it would have also been weird… writing about a place that you know about when strange things were happening to people there…

IT COULD BE TRUE
IT COMPLETELY FREAKS ME OUT. WHAT. IF. IT. WERE. TRUE. ?. There could be people who we can’t see living around us. Reading this review as I type it. Watching the TV next to me. Reading books behind me. It makes me shudder…

The Ending
It actually surprised me that I loved the ending! I usually hate those types of endings where it is a bit ambiguous… but I LOVED THIS ENDING! And I can’t say anything else without spoiling it… 😦

Favourite Quotes

  • “Remember us”
  • “Not everyone has to fly high to prove they exist; some of us are perfectly happy flying low and enjoying the view.”
  • “In extraordinary times, the ordinary takes on a glow and wonder all of its own”
  • “Adults are just making things up as they go along. And when they’re scared, adults have no more answers than us kids”
  • “How was it even possible to know if your brain was malfunctioning, because the very thing you need to think it all through is the very thing that might be playing up in the first place”

Summary
READ IT. You know you want to. (and if you don’t; READ IT). However, I wouldn’t give this book the full 5 shuriken stars… I would probably say 4 shuriken stars.

8 responses to this post.

  1. I will look for this on amazon tonight, Can I suggest you check out vN a book I am reading right now that sounds very similar.

    Reply

  2. I found both 0.4 and Human.4 are they the same book? Amazon actually lists 0.4 as only a 32 page book.

    Reply

  3. Sounds like an excellent book! And the cover is amazing. I love the ‘it could really happen factor’ that’s prevalent in science fiction and post-apocalyptic, so this definitely sounds like a book for me. Thanks for the review!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

