Nevermore – James Patterson

Nevermore: The Final Maximum Ride Adventure (Maximum Ride, #8)I really don’t know how to feel about this.

Well, actually, I do, I just don’t know how to say it.

BTW, this review is going to contain miles and miles of spoilers, because I have to.

Summary

Oh look, a bunch of terrorists, oh no. Let’s completely forget about them so they barely appear in the plot again. Let’s go to school for no apparent reason. Oh Nudge wants to be normal, but let’s never mention it again and have it never resolved. Let’s get rid of Fang’s Gang because we don’t need them any more and never mention them again. Fang is back in the flock, because of the voice and stuff, who is actually Angel, well, duh, that has no major gaping plot holes… The Voice speaks to everyone, but the instructions are kind of pointless. Dylan and Max are in love. Nope, Max and Fang are in love. Oh yeah, Ari has appeared as well and Maya is now dead, sucks to be her, but who cares.. Let’s all escape to this paradise place with random other mutants that are never mentioned again. Fang is gonna die? LOL JKS, just kidding, he’s not, even though he’s special and stuff it’s not like that matters. And oh no, we’ve run out of plot. Let’s throw in this massive explosion which incinerates the world except no one actually knows whether it does or not. Max is dead? Lol just kidding. Let’s just end it there.

Pros

I’m starting with Pros, because otherwise this review is going to get really negative really fast.

Developing Dylan

I actually felt half-bad for the kid this time. Being in love with Max, at some points, actually seemed more like a curse to him, because he didn’t ask for being in love with her, he just was. Though he did try to kill Fang, and he had that massive freak out, and the love triangle never really got resolved because I was pretty sure he was still in love with Max at the end since they didn’t say anything about it. NO I’M NOT SUPPOSED TO BE NEGATIVE HERE GEEZ IT’S JUST ALL OVERFLOWING OUT OF ME.

I did find it interesting, however, the different reactions they had to Max’s rejection. Fang (even though his wasn’t a proper rejection) just left and formed his own gang to continue his goal, just away from Max. Whereas Dylan had a total freak out and started ripping stuff up like Godzilla and going all crazy, and trying to kill Max’s love-of-her-life.

MAX AND FANG

FINALLY. GEEZ.

I WAS SO HAPPY ABOUT THIS ONE BIT. YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW WORRIED I WAS.

Fax is an actual word. Mylan sounds like a really gross type of disease with pus and boils and gross stuff. Just saying.

Angel was sort of likeable

I do mean sort of, though. Whereas she was so annoying in some of the other books, FANG especially, I actually liked her in this one. And her scenes were always really creepy. The white coats really are scary.

Characters

Were all still good, because you know, they are.

That one scene with Iggy going blind

This is probably only because I really love Iggy as a character, but I thought that scene was really chilling. When they showed the clip, I thought it was just a random kid they were experimenting on, but then it turns out to be Iggy and you know what’s happening to him and what’s going to happen and it’s horrible. And the fact that they left him conscious while they did it, and he could feel it all. And not once, in the entire series, does he describe the surgery. Of course he does complain about being blind, but a lot of the time it’s just jokes, and he doesn’t mope around all the time because he’s lost his sight and everyone else hasn’t. He just accepts it. I think I remember one book where he almost left, but he didn’t and that’s what I find important.

Cons

I wish there were less of these.

The Plot

Look at that summary. And you’ll understand.

Love triangle, but we have to save the world what do we do, bam explosion. End.

Fang’s Gang

So much stuff was just thrown in and forgotten about. For one thing, “Angel” by James Patterson didn’t even need to happen, because the only thing that was established in Angel that I actually cared about was Fang’s Gang and how awesome they were. Except they were gotten rid of in the first few chapters and not mentioned again, which was really annoying. I loved all the new characters so much, especially Holden,who was so awesome. Especially now that most of the Flock has been completely forgotten and pushed to the background except Max, Dylan and Angel, who are actually my least favourite out of all of them. Iggy is probably my favourite character, followed closely by Fang.

Fang’s Gang were one of the things I was looking forward to. But then Star and Kate betray Fang for Jeb, and Maya dies, so he’s all made and stuff. And then suddenly Fang’s  like, “sorry guys but I actually hated being in this gang ok bye”, and just LEAVES them.

And they are never mentioned again. Ever.

EVER.

At least mention why Star and Kate even mentioned Jeb, or what happened to Holden and Ratchet. Maya’s dead, so there’s really nothing we can do about her. In my mind, or hope at least, Star and Kate stayed together and stayed with Jeb, then realised he was a douche and left. They met up with Holden and Ratchet who had stuck together, since they both had no home or place to stay, they formed a gang. Because none of them really had any family left to go back to.

But you know why it’s in my mind and not on paper? BECAUSE YOU NEVER FIND OUT. And I would be fine with that if this wasn’t the last book, because there would be a chance that they would be mentioned again or at least explained. BUT NO. IT’S THE FINAL BOOK. IT’S EVEN CALLED “Nevermore: The Final Maximum Ride Adventure”. Which was too long winded for me to put as the title for this review.

Just introduce us to characters in one book, and then realise, Lol nope I don’t need them let’s just get rid of them and hope no one notices. Though this is a recurring theme in the Maximum Ride books. I haven’t read the others in a long time, but there were so many characters that just disappeared. Omega, what happened to that kid? I liked him, I thought he had potential to be a main character. Like he could have easily had Dylan’s position as the third point of the love triangle and I wouldn’t have hated it as much. All those kids from the sewers. All the disposable, and interchangeable villains from all the books. Brigid thingy. Or is she dead? I can’t even remember, but her and Fang had that thing going on. Dr G-H (I have no idea how to spell his name, and I’m too lazy to attempt it). That girl that could heal herself in Africa. The global warming people who worked with Max’s Mum.

All these characters might have some sort of definitive ending that I can’t remember, but that’s just it. They are so irrelevant and fleeting and numerous that it all seems so pointless.

Maya

Her death. Didn’t make me feel anything. I’m one of those rare people who actually likes Maya, because I feel bad for her, having to live in the shadow of Max and try so hard to differentiate herself from her, and feeling like everyone loves Max a lot more than her, and she’s like a second, worse version of her that no one gives a damn about.

But I didn’t care when she died. I was actually happy. Because then this stupid love square (four people – four points of the love triangle – not a triangle anymore) would be less complicated. What I was hoping to happen was Dylan just fall in love with Maya and then this whole problem would have been solved.

Fang’s significance about him being special and stuff

This does absolutely nothing to the plot. Fang’s immortal blood and stuff? Eh. He doesn’t get kidnapped or tested or chased especially just because he’s got this really good DNA.

The only thing that does happen relating to this is that the guys that he hitchhiked with recognised him and threw him off a cliff. Except they could ahve just recognised him because he’s famous and stuff for having wings.

Which reminds me. WTH why are Max and co showing their wings at school. It’s like a big “HEY WORLD LOOK WE GO TO THIS PLACE PLEASE COME AND TRY TO ATTACK US” sign. I know they’re not subtle and stuff, but geez. And why did they even go to school anyway?

The Terrorists were pointless.

Seriously. They weren’t even a plot device. Nothing of significance actually happened with them. They never fought Max and the others (unless that was the ending point, which, if it was, I totally did not get), and they were barely mentioned. They were not a threat. They were just a background thing that no one cared about.

The Ending

For the last book in a series. IT SUCKED. It wasn’t an ending. It was like the Snow White and the Huntsman ending. ALL THE QUESTIONS WERE LEFT WIDE OPEN AND ENOUGH TO MAKE A GAZILLION SEQUELS.

Sorry, I’m getting frustrated. Back to the point.

There were so many questions left. WTH happened to the world? What’s going to happen to all the bird kids? It felt like the mid book in a series. Not only because of the ending, but the fact that there was NO EPIC FIGHT OR WHATEVER. Maximum Ride did not go out with a bang, it went out with a sizzle. Not even sizzle. It’ was left glowing, then someone was like, Oh i have to end it, and just pinched it out.

I’m sorry. I hate getting annoyed at books and wanting to slam them and cuss and swear loads because they are so frustrating, because I know writing a book takes a lot of effort and stuff, but urgh.

Wait, the last chapter was the fan written one right? It was a really good ending chapter especially that last line, just not a good build up for it. I’m not bashing the writer. I just didn’t like how the entire series was solved. It really feels like a spin off series is coming. Maybe that’s for the manga which I still need to read.

Also. Seriously? Get a fan to write the last chapter of your bestselling (is it bestselling? I think it’s bestselling) series. WHAT? Sometimes I really feel like JP doesn’t actually care about Maximum Ride anymore. He probably does, it’s just the impression I get.

Total

Why does he even exist? I mean seriously. Why? He has like two lines in the entire story. And for most of it he stays at home or with Akila and he basically has nothing to offer to the plot at all.

Humour

This isn’t really a complaint, I just felt there wasn’t as much funny as there usually is. Maybe it’s getting really serious and stuff because of the love triangle and end of the world thing, but I was hoping for more sarcastic remarks and stuff. Maybe I’ve been reading too much Skulduggery Pleasant.

Non-Twists

Angel is blind? Nope. It was like “OMG SHE’S BLIND. NO WAIT. JUST KIDDING.” Not only would add more evilness to the scientists, and make way more sense than her just hallucinating, but it would make more plot with her trying to deal with what Iggy’s had to deal with for most of his life. And then there could be more bonding and stuff between the characters.

I’ve already mentioned the Fang thing.

Oh, the Voice one. Didn’t seem very plausible. For one thing, didn’t the voice talk to all of them while Angel was still in that room with the damper so she couldn’t go into people’s minds? I haven’t read the books in a while, but I swear they thought Angel was the voice before but it wasn’t possible or something. Maybe I’m wrong. But it didn’t really feel like a twist at all.

So Max was supposed to save the world…

Right. Except she didn’t. SHE DID NOTHING.

Dr Martinez takes them to this paradise place and then the world blows up while they’re gone. It’s that random. And Max doesn’t even seem to care that everyone is dead. I was also annoyed that we didn’t find out what happened to Iggy, Nudge and Gazzy. They basically get as much screen time (reading time? book time?) as Total does. That’s right. They’re as important as the talking, flying dog. I would have love it if the entire flock were there on that cliffside, minus Dylan.

Minor Characters

Seriously. Why are they in barely any of this book? Iggy and Gazzy have seemingly melted into one character, as they go almost everywhere together and  got the same instructions from the Voice. And Nudge had one plot point, that she really really wanted to be normal. But then it was never resolved. I thought it might turn out like in X-Men: The Last Stand, which I remember liking though everyone else hated it. Though I’ve never read the comics and I wasn’t really paying attention to what was happening in the movie. But I do remember Rogue, this girl who basically can’t touch people because she kills people. She drains their powers or something, so she always has to wear gloves and I think she put her sister into a coma but I’m not sure and she can never kiss her boyfriend and so on. She went to take this antidote because she hated being a mutant, because her mutant power did suck. I thought Nudge might do something like that. Oh well. I guess we’ll never know.

The Kickassery didn’t feel very Kickass

Don’t ask me why, I have no idea. But it didn’t feel kickass at all.

The title still doesn’t make any sense

Is it because the Earth is Nevermore? Is that it? As said very well by CassJayTuck, a youtube book reviewer, she suggested that the title MAX should have been saved for the last book. I feel like that would have been a lot more epic. just MAX in massive letters across the cover, instead of all these random name titles.

So most of my problems come from this being the last book in the series.

Because it really didn’t feel resolved. In the last Harry Potter book, JK Rowling was amazing and just taking all these loose plot strings and tying them together in an awesome way. You could tell that she’d planned everything so perfectly and just came together so brilliantly, and there were epic fights, and all the characters had their shining moments and it was brilliant. That’s probably why it’s my favourite book in the series. In The Death Cure I was really worried because I didn’t think the ending was very conclusive and I wanted to know more about the Flare and Teresa and Thomas before the Maze, but then I heard about The Kill Order and everything seemed okay again.

Maybe there should be a spin off series, or something, just so JP can close all these gaping plot holes.

Quotes

There is only one quote that I really want to include, and you probably know what’s coming.

  • In a way, maybe I did die in that wet grave, because it’s like I was completely reborn when I came up from that water. The air feels different to me now. I’m breathing it differently now. Like my body is a whole new machine.
    It is my time.
    The time of Maximum Ride.

Overall

So this has been a freakishly long review, but there was a lot to say. I have a lot more to say, but I can’t really remember what I was going to say, so deal with this. Unfortunately, I think I’m not going to be able to give this 3 shuriken stars. I was going to give this the same score as Wicked Lovely but I couldn’t do it for two reasons. One, I couldn’t do that to such awesome characters. Two, FAX. So here we go. 2 shuriken stars.

It reminded me of a bad glee episode. No continuity, loads of random gaping plot holes, only concentrating on the most annoying characters even though there are tons of good ones, but still kind of enjoyable. And slowly going downhill from that first episode.

Gleeks, don’t kill me. Please don’t kill me. I know gleeks can be lethal. I still like the show, but it really isn’t as good as that first season.

24 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ME on August 6, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    Ikr!!! that was such an awful ending to such a great series! Did like all of the other mutants die since the cave was underwater? That would mean Iggy Gazzy and Nudge died too because they dont have gills yet! But dr. martinez is still alive because angel is reading her mind? What!!? i just dont get it! Max is like im gonna save the world and then shes just like hmm nevermind. just save the world max! Arghhh! oh, and your summary was absolutely hilarious and completely accurate! haha. but i just need to know what happens! so mad right now!

    Reply

    • I’m so glad I’m not the only one. A lot of people have been praising it loads and I don’t see it. I’ve been trying to find redeeming qualities but it’s so hard. Oh yeah, I completely forgot about the cave being underwater. I guess there are only 4 people in the “world” now. Well, you tried, Max. And thank you! You are so nice even if your name confused me so much because I thought I was talking to myself.

      Reply

  2. Posted by taylor on August 11, 2012 at 12:28 am

    I AGREEEEEEE

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lesie on August 15, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    I agree COMPLETELY!!! My thoughts exactly when I finished. I think the only think i lovedabout it was the FAX, and Idk if i missed it but did the book even explain how Fand survived the fall from the cliff?? I reread the part when he gets to Max and the flock after that and all I got was he was resurrected??
    I really thought Fang’s gang was going to show up again too and was like wtf!!
    What happened to Jeb?? Idk if i just can’t remember or Patterson didn’t say anything about it.
    I don’t believe Angel was the voice. She even would say she had to listen to HER voice when she was being all freaking annoying trying to be leader -_- I was honestly hoping she would just die because she just pissed me off so much! and it was so weird how no matter how backstabbing she was Max and the flock didn’t question it much you know. They did after a certain point but it was just like “ok we’ll just hope she doesn’t try it again” -_-
    Ending was BULL!!! I wanted to know what happened to the world :/ Max didn’t do a noodle!! and her character changed 😦 At first she was kickass, had great comebacks, and was a great leader. Idk what happened to her by the end. I love the series, but I’m very let down by how it ended.
    I don’t even think Patterson knew himself how he was going to end the book. I think that was really what the contest was about. Trying to see if some teenager or kid can give him ideas how to end the book. I think he set himself up for failure which sucks when you have so many fans reading the series.
    Overall your review was dead on with everything.

    ..btw seriously though how did fang survive the fall from the cliff???

    Reply

  4. I was planning on reading this book tomorrow but after reading this review and many others, I am kind of scared to read it now.

    Reply

    • No, do read it! (Btw, sorry for kinda spoiling it all for you) I’m guessing you’ve read the first 7 books, so you should finish the series. Don’t worry, it only takes a few hours to read. And I know a ton of people who loved it, just my own personal… annoyance… It’s an easy read though, so if it annoys the heck out of you it’ll be over quickly. Happy reading!

      Reply

  5. Posted by Matt on November 1, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    You do realize that the ending was the actual ending right? Like the giant nuclear bomb blew up the whole world, including Max, the bird kids, Angel died, the world is gone. It is the END of all endings.

    See, the book was like a diary of Max, almost like we’re reading her thoughts. When Max dies because the world ended due to her failing, the book stops abruptly. You don’t have to like it, but this is what happened. World ends, narrator dies, book ends abruptly.

    Now about the series, I hated that Max was a bad leader the whole time. She is ruled by her emotions yet claims she isn’t, she ends up with a bird that left her twice, replaced her with her clone, fell for the clone, got the clone killed and came back and she just falls for him. She often leads them the wrong way and they somehow live because the flock saves her.

    And Angel could be the voice, I know it has a lot of contradictions, like the voice telling Max to lead the flock but Angel supersedes her as leader. But, if you read the Alex Cross series you run into HUGE contradictions like the answering machine (I think book 8) and one of the killers killing his wife and twins, Alex has no idea if the killer is alive or dead and tells his ex/child thief this. Then in book 10 he sees the killer and gives you immediate backlog that he knows about the killer being alive. Anyhow, the contradictions are a necessity or he can’t close out certain books. They are narratives after all, and the narrator is human and makes mistakes. They are actually giving you perceptions or opinions, not facts. The narrator isn’t perfect, Max for example is the least perfect bird in the flock, well maybe Fang is, but she’s a close second. How can there not be contradictions with such a flawed narrator? Remember, we never know if they are telling us facts or their perception of those facts.

    This book was complete garbage though, can’t believe I waited for it.

    Reply

    • Bu-bu-but the ending epilogue thing whatever it was. Does that not count? Because she is definitely alive there. Unless she’s in heaven… Whoa… Or hell, depends on how you see it. I think he really needs to think through his plot lines. And yes, Max was not a great character, but at least she had flaws, unlike many, many girls of YA fiction.

      Reply

      • Posted by Matt on November 2, 2012 at 5:06 pm

        That was a vision of the future. Remember that Angel has already seen them dead when she is arguing for them to go underground. Her prophesy or whatever doesn’t mean she is alive. Many prophets see the future from an outside perspective, even if they aren’t in that future. Some 1000s of years beyond their death, often looking down. She is Angel after all.

      • Really? Wow. I did not get that. I think I should have paid more attention to the book.

  6. Posted by Darryl on November 22, 2012 at 9:33 am

    That’s because JP stopped caring aboutghe book series after book 5. Possibly even 3; pushing it at book 6. Really pushing it.

    Reply

  7. So. Frustrating. This book (read:series) had so much potential, and it started so well! But by the last couple of books they just seemed to follow the same plotline; terrorists, bad things, get betrayed, save world.
    Your review was hilarious, btw. And soooooooooooo true! I think the only thing I enjoyed was the Iggy blindness bit. Such a letdown! He should have just never wrote this. Though, a lot of people say he doesn’t actually write his own books now, so maybe that explains the crapiness.

    Reply

    • I never understand why people get other people to write their books. I don’t know if I should feel relieved or sad that it’s ended. But thanks! It’s nice to see more people who didn’t understand the lack of plot, everyone I’ve found has really liked it.

      Reply

  8. Posted by Dhdggdges on April 11, 2013 at 2:39 am

    The series came to an abrupt end. I think the others survived because max would be in tears and crazy. I do think the whole series became a blur because I didn’t understand what was happening and max lost that amazing leadership ability that made me love the series. Angel being evil was kinda just bad, and ari being resurrect three times just was annoying. James can do better since I have read his other series

    Reply

    • What other series have you read by him? I was thinking of starting the Daniel X series, because that one sounds cool, and I have read the first two books in the Witch And Wizard series though I never got around the finishing that.

      Reply

  9. Posted by Poppy on April 22, 2013 at 2:07 am

    Im not gonna lie i was a mylan fan but i laughed so hard when u said that thing about it sounding like a disease. I laughed so freaking hard!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Kayla on April 11, 2014 at 12:28 am

    This book is awesome and sad

    Reply

  11. Posted by Kayla on April 11, 2014 at 12:29 am

    Lame

    Reply

Leave a Reply

