The Death Cure- James Dashner

The Death Cure (Maze Runner, #3)Such an annoying end to such a great series….

That was my first thought after reading to the end of that book… It was just so… what’s the word?
Annoying?
Underwhelming? bleh… It takes too much effort to think up the word… Anyway, just to let those of you who haven’t read the book know; this is the last book in the Maze Runner trilogy, (the other books being the Maze Runner and the Scorch Trials), by James Dashner. OK. Back to me ranting! But don’t get me wrong. I still love the book and the series!, I just thought that it could have ended with a more satisfying end…

Summary (note. only read this if you have read the other two books in the series, or if you don’t care about getting the other books spoilt)
Everything comes down to WICKED. They have finished making the “blueprint” for the “cure”, and all the Gladers are going to get their memories back. BUT, Thomas and his little posse (Newt and Minho), don’t trust WICKED, and don’t want them fiddling with theirs brains (fair enough right?), so they kinda, break out, and run away. The rest of the book is basically about them trying to end WICKED and their schemes, and how they find out the truth and the answer to the question that has been bothering me and you (well, maybe it’s just me?) since Teresa came up in the Maze Runner: “Is WICKED good?”
Cons
THE ENDING (may contain hints of spoilers!)
Since I ranted a lot at the beginning, I’ll do a shorter synopsis (can I call it a synopsis?) of the ending. It was just so ANNOYING… because it kinda meant that all that happened in the previous two books were for NOTHING. And BRENDA??? I mean WTH??? That was just so annoying… and with Teresa as well… My feelings towards loads of the characters changed; e.g. Some which I liked in the other books, at the end I hated… and others, I eventually kinda liked…
I think the last death at the end should have it own little paragraph: I just wish the author wrote more about it, such as the feelings of the other character, rather than: “Oh, you’re dying. You just saved my life and now I’m going to run off into a heavenly world, with the person who you hate, and make out with him/her in a few minutes” I really hated that character at the end….
It just seemed to gloss over… and I can’t help but compare it to Prim’s death the Mockingjay (sorry if that is a spoiler to those of you who haven’t read the hunger games…); because with Prim’s death it was so sudden, and Katniss only had a one dimensional feeling of anger over Prim’s death; kinda like the death and feelings in this book…

Unanswered questions
I’m sure I wasn’t the only one… The main thing that really bothered me was, how Thomas didn’t get his memories back. It just seemed that Dashner didn’t exactly know what his memories were, so he just used a different method, to avoid writing about them altogether… I just hope we find them out in the Kill Order…

The Suddenness
Usually this is a good thing, but seriously, in this book, it just bothered me… There were just too many sudden plot twists, so after some time it just didn’t make my heart race as it did before. It still made me shocked, but just not to the same extent… Some parts of the book, I just wish he had spent a little more time building up to it, rather than just launching into it straight after a plot twist…

Pros
Usually I would do loads of paragraphs on the pros of this book, but it is pretty much the same as his other books (I’ll just make a list below), so I don’t think I’m going to explain them as I did for his other books, because this review is getting a little lengthy, and I think I’m rambling too much. I think I am rambling now… Damn it… So. Without any more rambling:
Writing style
Cover of the books
The awesomeness of Minho

The Heart-wrenchingness
The action 

Favourite Quotes (note. some quotes may contain hints to the book!)

  • “I ought to break your shuck nose”
  • “Kill me. If you’ve ever been my friend, kill me”
  • “Awww,” Minho said. “That’s almost as sweet as that time she slammed the end of a spear into your shuck face”
  • “Sometimes they do things to make me do the opposite of what they think, I think, they think, I am going to do.”
  • “Minho looked at Thomas, a serious expression on his face. “If I don’t see you on the other side,” he said in a sappy voice, “remember that I love you”

Overall
Because of my loyalty to this series, I’m going to give it 5 shuriken stars…. but I would have to say, that it is only five because I loved the other two books so much!, But if this was the first book in a series…, I would say it would probably only be around 3 and a half or 4 shuriken stars… BUT STILL! If you have read the other two books, I would still recommend you to read this book, as you never know, from other reviews that I have read, it seems that some people at least have liked it…

3 responses to this post.

  1. Ooh I can’t wait to read it! Upsetting that it was a little disappointing, but still. I loved the first two!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

