Shadows- Ilsa Bick (Cover)

Shadows (Ashes Trilogy, #2)This is the cover of the second book in the Ashes Trilogy, by Ilsa Bick, and it looks AWESOME! And I didn’t even like the first book that much… So this is the Egmont cover, there is another one, which I think matches with the first book better, but when I saw the other, it was surrounded by a language that I couldn’t understand…, So that’s why I’m doing a cover review on this one!!! So, it hopefully comes out on September 25th! I would say that I cannot wait…, but the truth is, I’m not that bothered…, I just want to read the book, so I can form a proper opinion on Ashes, as I still feel a little temperamental about it…, because the beginning was so good!!!, but the second half… Urg…

I just love how it seems so dark (ironic right?, since it’s title is called Shadows!) 😀 And how the word is the main part of the cover, and that surrounding it is black or dark blue- mysterious!!! I also love the colours used, they just seem so much more vivid and bright than Ashes…

One thing that annoys me about this cover, is how it doesn’t look anything like the old Ashes Cover… I just don’t understand why they would make a new cover for Shadows and Ashes, so late after Ashes has been released…
It also looks as if the author/ designer, just did what they like without a regard to the plot… Because the cover just seems so elegant…, and I wouldn’t imagine a Apocalyptic book to be elegant… Although, I do love the elegance 😀

THERE IS A PERSON ON THE WORD SHADOWS!!!, Sorry, I only just realised!!! And I think it’s a guy, which means that it can’t be Alex… So??? Who could it be???!!! This just goes back to my point about how it seems mysterious… Perhaps, it’s Tom!!!, Or maybe it’s that other jerk, who likes Alex…

Summary (from Goodreeads)
The Apocalypse does not end.
The Changed will grow in numbers.
The Spared may not survive.

Even before the EMPs brought down the world, Alex was on the run from the demons of her past and the monster living in her head. After the world was gone, she thought Rule was a sanctuary for her and those she’d come to love.
But she was wrong.
Now she’s in the fight of her life against the adults who would use her, the survivors who don’t trust her, and the Changed who would eat her alive.
Welcome to Shadows, the second book in the haunting apocalyptic Ashes Trilogy: where no one is safe and humans may be the worst of the monsters.

From the summary of the book, it seems a little like this other book I have read, called Rot and Ruin, by Jonathan Maberry (WHICH IS AMAZING!, just to put it in! 😀 ), because of the last few lines! “humans may be the worst of the monsters” compared to the “In a world full of zombies who are the real monsters?” from Rot and Ruin. But note. Ashes is NOT a zombie book! I’m very picky about things like that!… And I am glad to say this Ilsa Bick knows her zombie information well! 😀

So, My hopes/ Predictions!:

  • We will find out what happens to Tom and Ellie
  • We will meet Tom
  • Someone will die (either the jerk who also likes Alex (fingers crossed!) or Tom (please no…)
  • We will learn more secrets about “the Rule”; because I have a feeling that they are still keeping stuff hidden…, because their way of ruling seemed a little strange…
Leave a Reply

