Cinder – Marissa Meyer

Before you judge the book, look closer at the cover. Yes, inside that leg is a machine thingy-magick. Guess why. Go on.

Yup, that’s right. This is Cinderella retold, except she’s a cyborg.

Interested?

Summary

Cinder is the best mechanic in this new, futuristic Beijing. She has two stepsisters (PLOT TWIST: One of them is actually nice), her evil stepmother and this android called Iko who is her best friend. Prince Kai asks her to fix his android, and then there’s this whole thing about letumosis, this plague that basically means if you get it, you’re screwed. And then the Lunars, who are moon people who are all evil and stuff, and the Queen wants to marry Prince Kai. And yeah, that’s our story. A bit different to Cinderella, right?

Cons

These aren’t really major cons, you just need to be aware of them when reading the book.

It is SO predictable
Maybe that’s just me. Maybe I was the only one expecting it. I doubt it, though, I’m really bad at picking up on plot twists. There is this one big reveal about Cinder, and I totally saw it coming. I can’t remember how far in it was when they mentioned it, I think about 50 pages in, but as soon as they did I was like “Yup, then that’s going to happen, and so is that.”. And I was right. Yeah, there are no major plot twists at all in this book. And if there are, they aren’t jawdroppingly surprising.

But that didn’t make it a bad book. No way. Just because I predicted the ending doesn’t mean it wasn’t still really enjoyable and so on.

The Cover
Again, I know. It’s got nothing to do with the book. I just don’t like it. There’s nothing about a big red stiletto involved, and yes. It portrays that it’s about Cinderella. But it really looks like they were just trying to get to a YA supernatural, lovey-dovey audience. The cover could have been way more epic. But it’s not the writer’s fault because she probably didn’t have much say, and it’s not the advertiser’s fault for trying to make the book sell. So, really, it’s just a personal thing.

Pros

Plot = Pretty cool. Predictable, yes, but still really cool. I loved the whole idea about the world and the lunars and so on.

Characters = None of them really stood out, but they all had differences. They weren’t all copycats of each other. They were still all individual and awesome. Oh, but my favourite thing about it was that you start to feel sorry for Adri. You hate her, because she’s really evil, but you feel bad for her at the same time. She lost her husband and got stuck with this cyborg, which she sees as this sort of monster, who she thinks killed her daughter. That’s got to suck.

Dialogue = Yeah, pretty good. I liked how Cinder and Prince Kai were both really sarcastic at times, my favourite type of humour (the main reason I read Maximum Ride and Skulduggery Pleasant).

I can’t really think of anything that stood out. Oh! This has nothing to do with the book, not really, but I have to mention it.

The Sequels

So the sequels to this are going to be:

  • Scarlett
  • Cress
  •  Winter

All about Cinder and her story and stuff. When I read that on the back cover of the book. I was thinking about how she was going to do this. She had based the first story on Cinderella, and that of course made it easier, but now she has to come up with new storylines, and it won’t be her take on a fairytale anymore. It’ll be like a different story.

And then I thought, wait a second. Wouldn’t that be really cool if each book was based around a different fairytale and had elements of a different one in each seperate installment. And lo and behold. They are.

Scarlett is based around Red Riding Hood. Cress around Rapunzel. And Winter on Snow White. Awesome, right?

So, I’m definitely going to be reading the sequels.

I CAN’T BELIEVE I FORGOT QUOTES. OOPS.

Quotes

  • “I’m sure I’ll feel much more grateful when I find a guy who thinks complex wiring in a girl is a turn-on.”
  • “I don’t know. I don’t actually remember anything from before the surgery.”
    His eyebrows rose, his blue eyes sucking in all the light of the room. “The cybernetic opetation?”
    “No, the sex change.”
    The doctor’s smile faltered.
    “I’m joking.”
  • “My only mistake was in waiting too long to be rid of you”, Adri said, running the washcloth between her fingers. “Believe me, Cinder. You are a sacrifice I will never regret.”

Overall

I have no idea what I’m going to give this. Like, 3 1/2 shuriken stars? That seems right. Though, I’m not sure whether it does place below Across the Universe or not. I’ll have to think about that. But in the meantime, read it! It’s really fun and enjoyable, and an awesome take on a classic fairytale.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I am really excited to read this book! Great view!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

