The Scorch Trials- James Dashner

The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner, #2)THIS BOOK IS PURE AWESOMENESS!
I cannot express using words how amazing it it!!!
jlhfawhdefukahw kjvfh <– that is how I would say how amazing it is in jibberish… although that isn’t a language… 😀
For those of you who have read the Maze Runner and are looking around at review for the second in the series, here is a small bit of information, that when I was waiting for the book was killing me! You hear more about the other group!!! (but I’m going have to just leave it at that!)
Anyway… This book is the second book in the maze runner trilogy by James Dashner and if you haven’t read the first book then read it!!! because this review will probably contain spoilers for the Maze Runner! The first book of course, is called the Maze Runner, and the last book is called the Death Cure (I wonder why?(!))! 😀 There is also a prequel coming out soon! (if you count about three months as soon… 😦 )

Summary
So… Thomas and “the gang” (lol… it’s my chav talk!) have to travel through the scorch, (hint the title), because WICKED IS EVIL… and they are making them do loads of trials… So… they have to travel through the Scorch, which is a wasteland, to get to the “Safe Haven” where they will find the cure to the flare… BUT if they don’t get there in time… THEY WILL TURN INTO CRANKS AND DIE!!!! BUT WICKED has set up some factors for them, that will make it harder for them…, both emotionally and physically…

Cons
It kinda rambles a bit…
At some times in the book, I felt that the author just wrote and didn’t really have an idea of what was going to happen… (but don’t get me wrong, sometimes the best books are written that way!), but it is still an AMAZING BOOK!!!

No other cons!

Pros
The fast pace
It was just so thrilling and amazing, and it literally made my heart race… <– I’m not even exaggerating… My heart was literally thumping like mad!!!

Un-put-down-able
As you can tell from the title, I couldn’t put this book down for a second! And as soon as I finishing that book I ran up and down the house… in frustration that the next book hadn’t come out yet!!! But everything’s OK, now, as I have read that book… Also, another point! You can read this book over and over again without getting bored! As I read this book just before the Death Cure came out!, and it was still un-put-down-able!

The Enemy
It’s quite hard to explain…………
There are a lot of “enemies” who try to obstruct the characters from their goal. The reasons why they are in the Pros section is that they were just developed so well, and it was so complex, but it didn’t feel like it… So, the enemies… My definition for an enemy for this book is someone who tries to stop someone from getting to their goal, or from getting what they want. As there are so many character, and they all have different desires, so based on my definition, they all have different enemies! Like the Cranks could be considered the enemy, or WICKED, or the other group, or “the witch”, etc.

Favourite Quotes

  • “Anybody else wanna pee their pants and cry for mommy?” (sarcasm, btw)
  • “…You’d think the little part about them supposedly killing us would be the attention getter.”
  • “I think we should take a break, fill our little tummies and drink up.”
  • Pop, pop, pop.” <– You’ll understand once you have read the book!
  • “And you forgive that witch?” So sad… 😦 because I agreed with “the witch” and I though that she was right….

Summary
As you can tell from the pros, this is a truly unique book. IT’s AWESOME!!! 😀 So therefore, it is easily 5 shuriken stars! I would definitely recommend you to read this book! (but only after the Maze Runner! <– which is also an AMAZING book!)

Leave a Reply

