Ender’s Game- Orson Scott Card

Ender's Game (Ender's Saga, #1)I was pleasantly surprised after reading this book! It was really really good!!! This is the first book in a really long series by Orson Scott Card. However, as I thought the ending was ended really well on this book, I’m not sure if I’m going to read the others…, but I’ll probably give the second a chance… As on goodreads, their ratings aren’t nearly as high Ender’s Game. Anyway, this book is really really good, as I mentioned above… The author wrote it in a really interesting way, which just kept me hooked, but not obsessed! Just to let you know, I think this is classified as Adult Fiction, compared to the usual Young Adult Fiction, that we usually review! But I would recommend this book to ANYONE!!! (except, maybe, little kids…) 😀

Cons
Either I’m in a good mood today, or this book has no cons!

Pros
The writing style
OMG. THE WRITING STYLE IS AMAZING!!! But I won’t say anything else in this paragraph, because I will mention it lower down! But… It was just so sophisticated and elegant! JUST AMAZING! Nothing quite like it!

The characters
I loved how we saw so many different sides to the different characters! But sometimes I did find it a little confusing, about what the character was actually like (such as Peter; I didn’t understand whether he was actually good or bad… because he gave that evil speech at the beginning about how he was going to kill Ender and maybe Valentine… but then later that day, he whispered to Ender that he loved him… So it confused me a bit…, but it was good, because in general, people are confusing… and it just made him seem like more of a 3D character). I loved how Peter contrasted Valentine, and how Ender was just in the middle! They were just all so different, but at the same time, so similar to each other! They all longed for power and control, but they had different methods at getting to it.
Ender: He deserves his own little paragraph! He was just such a three dimensional character! There were so many sides of him, and new ones kept appearing. He is just awesome! It’s hard to imagine that he is actually a kid, just like you and me, when he is like another race.

The set-out of the chapters
I loved the how Orson Scott Card set out the chapters!!! In the first part, it was written about the teachers and what they are saying and feeling, and as “there is no teacher but the enemy” they kept giving hints about what was to come, later in the chapter! After that part, comes the main part; e.g. About Ender, or Valentine, etc.

The villain
If you have read this book, you might be wondering, who is this reviewer writing about? Well, as I believe that the buggers aren’t the read villain, I think that the real bad guys were the teachers… They were just so sly… and so evil… Even the good teacher was evil… 😦 Although he actually cared about Ender, he still let those things happen to him, which almost makes it worse… because he knows that it is wrong… but he doesn’t try to stop it from happening. I just think that those teachers are written so well! and that it was subtle, that there was actually no enemy or villain, and that the reader could choose for himself/ herself who he/she believed the villain was!

The concept/ The plot
It was a really good concept. I was surprised that I haven’t read a book like that before. Just to let you know, the concept that I liked is that it is the kids who are really in control! and that they aren’t normal kids; they are really exceptional!

Favourite Quotes (there are a lot!)

  • “Perhaps it’s impossible to wear an identity without becoming what you pretend to be.”
  • “An enemy, Ender Wiggin,” whispered the old man. “I am your enemy, the first one you’ve ever had who was smarter than you. There is no teacher but the enemy. No one but the enemy will tell you what the enemy is going to do. No one but the enemy will ever teach you how to destroy and conquer. Only the enemy shows you where you are weak. Only the enemy tells you where he is strong. And the rules of the game are what you can do to him and what you can stop him from doing to you. I am your enemy from now on. From now on I am your teacher.” (I love this quote!, because I think that it does have elements of the truth in it!)
  • “I’ve lived to long with pain. I won’t know who I am without it”
  • “I’m putting you in Dink Meeker’s toon. From now on, as far as you’re concerned, Dink Meeker is God.”
    “Then who are you?”
    “The personal officer who hired God.”
  • “If you try and lose then it isn’t your fault. But if you don’t try and we lose, then it’s all your fault.”
  • “Be proud, Bonito, pretty boy. You can go home and tell your father, Yes, I beat up Ender Wiggin, who was barely ten years old, and I was thirteen. And I had only six of my friends to help me, and somehow we managed to defeat him, even though he was naked and wet and alone–Ender Wiggin is so dangerous and terrifying it was all we could do not to bring two hundred.”
  • “Peter, you’re twelve years old. I’m ten. They have a word for people our age. They call us children and they treat us like mice.”

Overall
If you are one of those people who skip to the end of a book or review, just to read the last few lines said this next sentence is a summary about how this review went: OMG! IT’S AMAZING! The writing style is FANTASTIC!, etc. You get the picture! So how can I write a review that positive, and not give the book 5 shurikin stars? The answer is that I can’t! 5 SHURIKIN STARS!!! No doubt about it! I would highly recommend this book, and I will let you know my thoughts after I have read the second!

6 responses to this post.

  1. so i read this one and was like ” O MY GOD…… i had to red the speaker of the dead…….. then that adds an unbeleivable twist…. so finally (spoiler) ender is at war with the rest of humanity and its like MAN……… but i dont want to read the next book (xenocide) because he is like 60 in that one….just cant bring myself to let go if my favorite character….. AND HE LOST JANE… that makes me even madder

    Reply

    • WASN’T IT SO GOOD?!!! 🙂 I’m currently in the same position as you, I still haven’t read Xenocide and its been months since I read the Speaker of Dead. but i am quite excited to find out about Enders niece…
      And for Jane… I can’t believe she just replaced Ender… :(Ender is awesome….

      Reply

      • Posted by blackbeast35 on January 1, 2013 at 9:56 pm

        the best parts of the book are
        1. his speech
        2. when novinha finds out who he is
        3. pretty much all parts with ender and novinha because they are so passionate whether she hates him or loves him
        and 4. from page 1 to 382
        the only complaint i have about the speaker for the dead is the first like 20 pages where is just like a portugese soap opra and you dont understanda anything that went on during those pages until like page 30
        (never really read the introduction either, so that might be the reason)

      • Both books are pretty awesome! Did you hear, there’s going to be an Ender’s Game movie in 2013 I think!
        I was so angry at ender though when he lost Jane in Speaker for the Dead.

  2. Posted by blackbeast35 on January 3, 2013 at 3:01 am

    my anger was not really toward ender… it was jane’s fault that she couldn’t let him turn her speaker off for 3 hours.. but yes they were good books.. i wish that i could continue with the series but i dont think i have the heart to change main characters

    Reply

    • I know what you mean, I think I’ve taken out Xenocide from the school library four times now, each time taking it back. So atm it’s sitting on my shelf waiting to never to read… 😦
      And the sad thing is; it’s not an exaggeration.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

