Nevermore (Cover) – James Patterson

Nevermore: The Final Maximum Ride Adventure (Maximum Ride, #8)UPDATE! For the full review of the book, just click this little link right here. 😀

This series.

What happened?

Would you like my thoughts on this book? Because you’re not going to like them.

Ok, let’s start.

I used to really like the Maximum Ride series. The first three books were awesome. They had this fast-paced, jokey, non-stop action which is awesome. And the humour was always great.

But then came the 4th book.

And we started ALL the global warming stuff. Which, yes, is very important. It is, it’s a big issue and we could all die. But Maximum Ride? Out of everything, it’s in Maximum Ride?

Maximum Ride is about fighting big, cartoonish villains and flying around and using awesome powers to defeat bad guys. Not global warming. Global Warming is too much of a big, serious, issue that cannot be solved by badass ninja skills.

And the the 5th, which was, eh. Ok.

And then the 6th. Which, let’s be honest, was… Well, at least we know that James Patterson is also able to create crappy characters like Dylan as well as awesome characters like Max and Fang and Iggy and so on. You can hear all our thoughts on these things in future reviews.

And then in Angel, things started to pick up slightly.

And then Nevermore was announced.

NEVERMORE.

I can’t believe that that is the name. Maybe I’m being prejudiced and rude and I don’t know, maybe Nevermore has some really big meaning. But right now, it sounds like a twilight ripoff that I would see in a bookshop and laugh at.

The previous titles and covers were all really good, except the USA ones for Fang and Angel. but how did we get from stuff like this:

School's Out - Forever (Maximum Ride, #2)Max (Maximum Ride, #5)

To stuff like Nevermore. These covers look awesome, but Nevermore looks like it’s a romance story about a fallen angel that falls in love with a boy, which seems to be a trend lately.

So, I’m guessing it’s Max on the front, who, for some reason, has white hair. Maybe there’s a reason for that, though I doubt it. She looks like an old lady. And there’s some sort of shipwreck going on behind her, and her feathers are all white, even though  I thought she had brown wings. Maybe it’s not her at all, maybe it’s some random new character JP has introduced us to in the last book, because he’s inconsistent like that.

You can tell that I’m not particularly happy with this. It’s also been said that Nevermore is one of the shortest in the series, which makes be think that it’s going to be impossible for JP to tie up all his loose ends, like  JK Rowling did so amazingly in the last book.

And the Summary makes me so annoyed.

Summary

“One last chance…
for Max, Fang, and Dylan…
before it all ends.

Are you ready for the final chapter? Are you ready for the ultimate flight? Because THIS IS IT. One last incredible, explosive adventure with an astonishing ending that no one could have seen coming.”

That’s it?

I guess it’s all about the love triangle now, as none of the other flock are mentioned. When did Dylan become such a main character?

And it really doesn’t give anything away, which doesn’t help with a review, but I will say something. If Max and Fang don’t get back together by the end of this book, then I will throw it (unless it’s on my Kindle. Then, no way, José). If Max and Dylan end up together and have loads of kids and stuff, I will probably punch something.

No, I will definitely punch something.

I’m trying to be positive about this, but I’ve read the 5 chapter preview. Would you like to know what happens? Ok.

Max mopes to Dylan about Angel dying and it makes me want to punch him in the face for being so annoying. Fang watches Maya fight Ari, who is back for some reason with the rest of the Erasers who magically appeared for no reason, and then Maya dies. Or we think she does.

That’s it. It’s that random.

But one thing I do love about these books is the humour, so at least I have that to look forward to, when I’m trying not to punch Dylan in the face.

You know what I’m actually really hoping to happen, is Dylan to turn out to be gay. That would be good, because then he could go off and become a singer and marry some guy (if it turns into a Fang-Max-Dylan triangle, but with Dylan in love with Fang, I don’t think I’ll be able to not laugh), and Max and Fang can be reunited and together and the world order will be partially restored.

So, what are your thoughts on Nevermore? As annoyed as I am? Am I being too harsh on the book? Tell me, please! I need to find some redeeming quality in this book.

11 responses to this post.

  1. hope Dylan and Maya burn in hell for all i care. seriously.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Nadia on June 20, 2012 at 6:38 am

    Ive been ranting about this whole series with my friend who loves maximum ride as well. Its been an ongoing rant for the past two years. i would try to get it all out but it would take me an enormous amount of time and i think im ranted out. i COMPLETELY agree with everything your saying. Its utterly RIDICULOUS. I used to love this series to death but then…..dylan happened. Also the whole global warming thing. I just dont think it fits at all. why is it even IN there?!?! Like, with all the crazy yet awesome fictional and unrealistic fun-ness that is maximum ride he chucks is global warming? NO.

    Your preaching to the freakin choir. It actually gets me really worked up when i get onto this subject. Ive come to seriously dislike and resent JP because of this. Ive lost respect for his writing.

    Reply

    • You. Are. Awesome. Of course, I still HAVE to read Nevermore, because i still have a really tiny inkling of hope that Dylan may die/turn gay/move to australia… Yeah. Thanks so much for looking at our blog!

      Reply

      • Posted by Nadia on June 21, 2012 at 5:49 am

        He CANNOT move to Australia. I live there so that would be a massive inconvenience to me. Maybe Russia. Yeah of course i still have to read it. I cant not finish the series. I still live in hope 😀

      • Posted by Nadia on June 21, 2012 at 5:50 am

        And your welcome :). The blog looks great!

    • Yeah, Russia. Or somewhere like the Arctic? And thanks! You are so nice!

      Reply

  3. Have you people read the ending yet?? I won’t spoil it but here’s a few little tips:
    maya dies
    ari’s back
    plus theres fax and mylan
    And it’s like the hunger games series: first book/ first 3 books were amazingly awesome, next one/ next 3 were decent, goodish reads, then the last one/ last few were very bloodthisrsty and deathy but ok.
    sorry if this gives away too much, if its too long or if its just babbling 🙂 i’m a bit like nudge: talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk talk

    Reply

    • Nope, we haven’t read the ending. Wait, how did you read the ending? What is this witchcraft? And god, Mylan, I am so not looking forward to that. And why is Ari back? I liked him being dead. Well, no, I didn’t like him dying, but he had a really good character arc and stuff. This book better not suck.

      Reply

    • Oh geez it’s already out! Man, do I want to buy it or not… I’m kinda scared I’ll hate it…

      Reply

  4. Posted by Naemslonkenrjn EKRknfekfsfe on August 19, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    Dylan SUCKS. He ruined the entire series.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

