Ashes- Ilsa Bick

Ashes (Ashes Trilogy #1)This book is very troubling… It really bothers me… It also really frustrates me… It should be an amazing book…but it isn’t… It’s like it is written by two separate people. I can even name the part where the book splits; after the evil bouncy hunter people came, and the chapter started with “Three days later” (at least I think it is three days…). I just don’t understand why…? Anyway, thankfully this book is part of a series, as the ending was way to broad with loads of unanswered questions to be finished. The series is called the Ashes series and I think it consists of three books… the second one being called Shadows! Oh, I forgot to mention, the author is called Ilsa Bick! (just in case you forgot/ didn’t see the title!)

Summary
OK. So the plot. This electromagnetic pulse happens and it kills some people, or they survive, or they survive then die by turning into weird kinda, but not quite zombie stuff… The story follows this girl called Alex who is hiking through the mountain/ forest when the pulse happens. She is stuck with this girl called Ellie, who, in my opinion is REALLY REALLY ANNOYING… because her grand-dad died (sorry for the spoiler, but had to happen!), and then she meets Tom, who is an ex- army person. And as this is a YA novel, Tom and Alex of course fall for each other… The story is basically about them trying to find out what happened and them trying to find civilisation.

Cons
The Split
As I said, the book kinda splits in two half way through it… As in the writing style completely changes… and the characters also kinda change… SPOILER ALERT: After the split,  don’t worry, if you read the books you will know what I mean!, you don’t hear from any of the “disappeared” characters after… I literally went through the whole second half waiting for that moment when they are reunited… but IT NEVER HAPPENED….!!! I was quite disappointed… as I really liked those character and the new ones… weren’t that good. So if you do decide to read it, be prepared…

The writing style
I thought that the first half was really good! But I didn’t like the second part of it… It might be because I don’t understand it entirely… maybe it was part of the effects (or is it affects? meh…) of the monster in her brain?, But anyway, the second half of the book, the writing style completely changed… It was like that the reader suddenly became detached, and I just didn’t care as much, and I just didn’t feel as connected to the character… But meh, it might just be me!

The Split itself
By that, I mean the part where, in my opinion, everything goes wrong… The part where the bouncy hunters come, and do what they did, I didn’t really understand, I thought that it is a bit rushed, and I didn’t really understand what had actually happened until pages after… Also with the “Three days later” part, I just felt that it was a bit disappointing, and too much of an anticlimax, as everything was building up, but then it just flops…

The new characters that were introduced
THERE WAS NO NEED!!! I didn’t like what happened to the old characters… and I just didn’t understand why she just changed the characters completely… I was really happy with Alex, Tom and Ellie, although some of them were annoying at parts, they just worked together… and Ilsa Bick just didn’t had to change it… because, in my opinion, THEY JUST DIDN’T WORK TOGETHER and it was too forced…

The second half of Alex
By second half, I mean the second half of the book, what she is like… She just flops… Everything that I loved about her in the first book, just disappears… Her strength, determination, stubbornness and loyalty just disappears for some time… But at least… at the end, she finally puts it back together…

Pros
The first half
Everything worked!, I had really high hopes for this books, after reading the first few pages! The writing style was AMAZING, the characters were mostly likeable and the plot seemed good! I loved how the characters developed and how they fitted together!, It was really good!

I am afraid that, that is the only Pro… 😦

Favourite Quotes

  • “It was that stages-of-anger thing. I was shocked and then I got pissed and then I fought like hell … and then I went numb. They called it acceptance, but it wasn’t. It’s what happens when you have only two choices: live with the monster, or kill yourself”
  • “Run, she told herself. Run, you idiot, run.
    But she didn’t. She couldn’t. She just… couldn’t”
  • “Those brain-zapped kids weren’t the only – or maybe even the worst – enemy”

Overall
hm… This book is really hard to give stars to… I really want to give it 4 shuriken stars… because both halves of the story are around that standard (maybe the first half is slightly better), but when they are put together… it just doesn’t work?… It’s like taking a goldfish and putting it in melted chocolate to swim…; the end result is just a dead goldfish and chocolate which tastes fishy… IT JUST DOESN’T GO TOGETHER… (sorry about the capitals… this book just really frustrates me…) I guess I have to give it 2 and a half shuriken stars… Because although it is up to a 4 standard, in writing  (well the first half)…, fishy chocolate doesn’t taste good…

Leave a Reply

