Clockwork Prince – Cassandra Clare

I would do a review on Clockwork Angel, but I’ve got to be honest. I read that last year, I can’t remember much, but just to start this review off, here’s a mini review. A meview, if you like (actually, no, don’t call it that. That’s a terrible name).

Clockwork Angel
Plot – good
Characters – Exactly like the Mortal Instrument characters, but more annoying.
Writing style – Old timey, but ok.
Overall – 3 Shuriken Stars.

So those were my initial thoughts going into this book. And what did I think?

Eh, it was pretty good. Definitely better than the first one, but still not amazing.

So, let’s summarise this thing, and if you don’t understand what the hell I’m talking about, then oh well. You should probably read the first book.

Summary
So, Benedict Lightwood is being annoying as always, and because of him Charlotte has to go find out all this evil stuff that I can’t really remember, otherwise she’ll lose the institute. And then the whole Will-Tessa-Jem love triangle (which let’s be honest. In the first book was WillxTessa and Jem being nice), being all complicated and annoying. But in a good way. Plus, we find out Will’s secret and a bunch of other stuff I also can’t remember. Wow, this isn’t starting out to be a great review, is it?

Cons
I don’t really know how to…. Urgh. I don’t know how to do the cons, because Cassandra Clare has me really torn. Ok, let’s see what we can do.

How do I…

OK, let’s put it this way. What I hated about the first book was that the characters were so alike the characters from the Mortal Instruments. Please tell me you saw this too. Because:

Will = Jace (yes, I know their related. That still gives her no excuse to make them exactly the same person. Not with the same backstory and stuff, but with the exact same humour and personality and getting the girl and being amazingly beautiful like an angel…)

Tessa = Clary (Except Tessa likes books. Clary likes drawing. And Tessa talks all ‘Olde English’ and seems more intelligent in my eyes. All her choices seem so much smarter and logical.)

Jem = Alek, but less gay, and more annoying. I’m sorry if you like Jem, I don’t really. I find the way he likes Tessa really annoying, though it’s probably just  me being heartless and cynical. Sorry.

Jessamine = Isabelle, but again more annoying. Whereas Isabelle was likeable, Jessamine is just downright snobby and annoying.

But you know what, I think Cassandra Clare kind of improved on this in this book. Kinda. I found them slightly more different to their original characters. I liked Jessamine more. I liked Jem less. I loved Will for a few chapters, found him really angsty and annoying in others, even though I now understand why. Wait a second, this really doesn’t sound like a Con anymore, does it. But it’s certainly not a Pro. Oh, whatever, let’s just keep it here.

Oh yeah, I have a legitimate Con now. Charlotte and Henry’s conversation at the end.

God.

It was so cheesy. And I mean really cheesy. The book was really good, I felt, then suddenly that conversation with bland dialogue and it’s cheesiness. I don’t know why it annoyed me so much, but it really did. Especially when Cassandra Clare could have done it so much better. She’s a great writer, and I was so surprised at that part.

Pros

Plot = pretty good.

Character developement = pretty good.

Amount Magnus Bane was in the book (he’s one of my favourite parts of the Infernal Devices series) = pretty good.

Dialogue = Awesome. But that’s one of the things I love about Cassandra Clare. Her dialogue is always funny and sarcastic and awesome.

Also, that ending. Oh, geez. That ending.

Ok. MASSIVE SPOILER ALERT HERE. MASSIVE MASSIVE MASSIVE MASSIVE MASSIVE SPOILER ALERT. SKIP TO THE END WITH ALL THE QUOTES AND STUFF. SPOILER-O ALERT-O. L’ALERT DE SPOILERS. (my amazing Spanish and French skills right there)

You know the end, did anyone else want to punch Jem in the face? I mean, I understand what he’s going through and so on, but right at the moment, I wanted to hit him. So bad. You know, the bit after Will’s proclaimed his love for Tessa and he knows that they can’t be together because of Jem and he’s basically like:

Jem: I know why you put your life on the line to save Tessa and risked dying and got all that stuff in your back and made it a bloody mess just for this girl.
Will: you do? 😀
Jem: Yeah, it’s because you know HOW IN LOVE ME AND TESSA ARE! AND WE’RE GONNA GET MARRIED AND STUFF!
Will: Oh… Yeah… Totally… 😦
Jem: Parabatai HIGH FIVE!

(That may have been slightly out of context and exxagerated, but that was basically the point. Jem ripped out Will’s hope and threw it on the floor, and Will just had to smile and nod.)

END OF SPOILER. FIN DE LA SPOILERS. NO MORE SPOILERS. NO SPOILERS. KEEP READING. READ MOI. IT’S SAFE NOW THERE ARE NO MORE SPOILERS.

Quotes: 

  • “Ah,” said a voice from the doorway, “having your annual ‘everyone thinks Will is a lunatic’ meeting, are you?
    “It’s biannual,” said Jem. “And no, this is not that meeting.”
  • “Reparations,” said Jem very suddenly, setting down the pen he was holding.
    Will looked at him in puzzlement. “Is this a game? We just blurt out whatever word comes next to mind? In that case mine is ‘genuphobia’. It means an unreasonable fear of knees.”
    “What’s the word for a perfectly reasonable fear of annoying idiots?” inquired Jessamine.”
  • “If you do not help me,” Tessa said to Jem, “I swear, I will change into you, and I will lift him myself. And then everyone here will see what you look like in a dress.” She fixed him with a look. “Do you understand?”
  • “Oh, leave it,” said Jem, kicking Will, not without affection, lightly on the ankle.
    “She’s annexed my plan!”
    “Will,” Tessa said firmly. “Do you care more about the plan being enacted or about getting credit for it?”
    Will pointed a finger at her.
    “That,” he said. “The second one.”
  •  “Patriotic?” Will looked smug. “I’ll tell you what’s patriotic,” he said. “In honor of my birthplace, I’ve the dragon of Wales tattooed on my—”

Overall
3 1/2 shuriken stars. Read it if you want to. Don’t read it if you don’t. Also, if you have read it, tell me if I’m the only one who is worried and torn about Cassandra Clare making this a 12 book series. Because she seems to be dragging this out so much. But maybe it’ll be awesome. But maybe it’ll be unnecessary and boring. I might do a post on my thoughts on this. I might not. Who knows.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Completely agree the characters were identical to her Mortal instruments ones. But I think we all forgive her. Her books are too good not to!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

