Legend- Marie Lu

Legend (Legend, #1)This book is good. Actually it’s better! It is AMAZING! The plot was amazing, and so were the characters, and the writing was amazing! This book is for all dystopia fans!!! It is a MUST read!!! This book is by Marie Lu, and it is one of the first books she has written (I think…), which is really impressive, as it is such a good book!!! 😀 It is the first book in a series, called the Legend series, but I’m not entirely sure how many there will be… :D, however I do know that the next one is called Patriot, and it is going to be released sometime in September this year (hopefully)!!! I can’t wait!!! 😀 It isn’t one of those books that rambles for a long time, before finally getting into the story.

Summary
The story is told in two parts; one part by June, who is 15 and the only person known to have scored a perfect 1500 in her trial. And the other half is told by Day, who is a criminal who lives in the slums of the Republic. I just read what I had written, and realised that it may not make sense to those of you who haven’t read this book… Lets start from the beginning! In the future, what used to be western America, is now the Republic, which is at war with it’s  neighbours and with the rebels. Every child, at the age of 10 has to take this test, called “The Trial”. The trial is scored with a maximum of 1500 points,which only one person has every achieved; June. The trial basically determines the rest of the child’s life; if they score well, they get to go to school, and therefore uni; if they score bad, then they get sent to labour camps…;and if they score in the middle, they just go to a bad school… June and Day meet by accident, and they both reveal nothing about their own past, as Day is a criminal and June is undercover. Oh! I forgot to mention. June is hunting Day because she thinks HE KILLED HER BROTHER. (don’t worry, that isn’t a spoiler, as it was on the blurb of the copy that I had!)

Cons
er… no cons?

Pros
The two viewpoints!
I love both of the characters! They are amazing in their own way! I loved that we got to meet both of them separately before we met them together. That way we could see them properly, rather than seeing how they act when they aren’t properly in their comfort zone.

The funny scene (Well I found it funny)- spoilers may follow
LOL! I found the scene so awkward and so funny… 😀 Note. spoiler to follow…, but you could see it coming…, it is a YA distopia novel…; some people have to end up falling for each other…, etc… I just found the scene when Thomas was confronting June about kissing Day so funny! It was just… YOU WEIRDO… (to Thomas) for listening to them kissing… ew…. lol…. 😀

The relationships between the characters
There are too many relationships to go into detail… I’ll just write about the main ones!
Day and his brothers: They are just so sweet!!! They care so much for each other… I just love how they would risk everything for each other…
June and Day: At first, I admit, it was extremely hurried… I think Marie Lu just wanted to get straight to the part, rather than let it build up. I actually really liked that method. Although it makes it seem less real, it, for me, made the book faster in pace, and just skipped all the boring parts like “Oh my god!  He winked at me! What ever next?” Which would have made it more like a romantic novel, than the action novel it is! (note. I’m not one for romantic novels.!)

Favourite Quotes

  • “Each day means a new twenty-four hours. Each day means everything’s possible again. You live in the moment, you die in the moment, you take it all one day at a time. ” *One of my favourite quotes. Ever.
  • “The memory fades, and I’m left hanging on to the ghosts of his words.”
  • “I will hunt you down. I will scour the streets of Los Angeles for you. Search every street in the Republic if I have to. I will trick you and deceive you, lie, cheat and steal to find you, tempt you out of your hiding place, and chase you until you have nowhere else to run. I make you this promise: your life is mine.”
  • “Well…can’t be any more dangerous than your crazy hospital break-in yeah?”

Overall
As there are no cons…, you can tell that this book is a MUST READ! It is amazing! I very strongly suggest you read it! I found say that it probably is a 4 and a half shuriken star? Because although I can’t find any cons about it, it isn’t one of those books that are mind boggling, and stick in your mind forever and you want to read over and over again… But those books are rare… and this book is still AMAZING!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Scribble Script on April 15, 2012 at 2:41 am

    I’m so glad you reviewed this book! I have heard so many good things about it and I cannot wait to read it. At the moment all the copies at my local library are checked out and my friend is reading it right now, so when she finishes it she’ll lend it to me. I absoloutly love dystopian novels and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

    Reply

  2. Hi! Great review! I read this a few days ago and thought it was awesome!.. I enjoyed reading this as mch as you did 🙂

    Reply

  3. I’ve just bought this book because of this review. I HOPE YOU’RE HAPPY.

    (Because I am)

    Seriously, this book looks brilliant!

    Reply

    • That makes me feel so special! I AM HAPPY! YOU MADE MY DAY! (Are you happy again?) 😀 But, anyway, Legend is an amazing book! You definitely (hopefully!) won’t regret reading it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

