Catching Fire- Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)PROBABLY CONTAINS SPOILERS FROM THE PREVIOUS BOOK!!!
I read this book a while ago… So I’m sorry if there are any mistakes… This is the second book in the Hunger Games trilogy, by Suzanne Collins. The first one is called The Hunger Games, and is about Katniss and Peeta trying to survive the hunger games. The third one is called Mockingjay, which, in my opinion isn’t a very good book. Overall, throughout the series, I would say that the books get progressively worse… Imagine a ship! Imagine the ship at the start going to it’s destination (that’s the level that the first book is at). Then imagine it crashing into whale (that’s the level that the second book is at). Finally, imagine it sinking (that’s the level that the last book is at…) Sorry to be all pessimistic, but I thought that you should be warned!!!

Cons
It was too much like the first book…
As I said above…<—I can’t be bothered to type it all out…. I just thought that at times, I was reading the same book twice… And now,after about a year, I get confused between the two. I mean literally, in the movie I got really annoyed at them missing a bit. Then when I got outside and started ranting about it…, my friend told me it happened in the second book… +_+

What Katniss and Peeta end up doing…
Now that I have typed it out… I realise that it sounds really wrong… I didn’t mean it in that way I swear! But I can’t say anything without spoiling the book… I just thought that what they did, wasn’t necessaries… and just wrong… They are only teenagers….!!!

The romance
I strongly dislike how Suzanne Collins wrote the romance stuff… Because it wasn’t even romantic… It was just like “Peeta! They don’t think we love each other [well… duh… Katniss doesn’t…]. Lets make out in front of them. That will convince them!” No. Just no. There were way too many scenes like that… And Peeta is such an idiot…, I mean, I guess I feel sorry for him, because Katniss is an idiot… but he was just too much over the top… And he didn’t respect all of Katniss’ ideas.

The old characters
Katniss: SHE MADE ME WANT TO TEAR UP THE BOOK!!!!!! She was just so ungrateful… she just completely dismissed Gale and Peeta, when they are both in love with her… And then she goes off moaning about how everybody hates her and how she has no friends… and generally feeling sorry for herself… The reason why she is like that is because of HER OWN STUPID FAULT
Peeta: He was just over the top. I didn’t like it. I don’t like him. Even in the first book. He was just so weak… He did whatever Katniss told him to do… I don’t like him
Gale: I’m actually quite surprised that I decided to put him in the cons section… but anyway… here he is… in the cons section… I guess it is that he wouldn’t man up and believe Katniss when she said that she was pretending… I just hate how he got all jealous over Peeta, and didn’t respect the fact that he was the reason why Katniss got out of the Hunger Games alive… But even so, Gale is so much cooler than Peeta; but that is probably because we see so much more of Peeta in the books, so I have more faults to pick out about him…

Pros
I love the new characters
I love all the new characters who are introduced!!! Such as Finnik and Annie!!! Or Johanna- who is so cool!!!!!! And I also love Mags!!!!

The action
I love the action… but it did frustrate me that it only happened in the second half of the book… But even though it was a slow start to the book, the action does get better…., and once it finally got there, it was pretty good!

The cover?
I’m kinda running out of positive things to say… So lets talk about the cover!!! It’s not the worst cover I’ve seen… But is definitely isn’t the worst either! I like how it has the “tick tock” thing under the mockingjay pin! And I love the colour of the cover; it is like FIRE <– just like the title, if you didn’t quite get it! 😀

Favourite quotes!

  • “So it’s you and a syringe against the Capitol? See, this is why no one lets you make the plans”
  • “I always channel my emotions into my work. That way, I don’t hurt anyone but myself”
  • “At some point, you have to stop running and turn around and face whoever wants you dead.The hard thing is finding the courage to do it.”
  • “I guess this is a bad time to mention I hung a dummy and painted Seneca Crane’s name on it…”
  • “That if desperate times call for desperate measures, then I’m free to act as desperately as I wish.”

Overall
Hm… This book is very tricky… I want to give it a four shuriken stars… but… that would be saying that it is as good as the other 4 shuriken stars… So maybe I’ll go just one below; how about three and a half shuriken stars…, but that seems very harsh… but oh well… Three and a half shuriken stars it is! Although I have written a lot of cons… I would still recommend you to read this book, if you have read the first one!, but just a word of warning. You may be disappointed…!

Leave a Reply

