Looking for Alaska – John Green

Why do I feel so… Underwhelmed?

So, I read The Fault in Our Stars, and completely loved it. I really did. It was so awesome. And my friends (and Goodreads) told me that this was way better. This was THE BEST BOOK BY JOHN GREEN. Or something like that.

And what did I think after I was done.

Eh.

I didn’t even feel anything when I was done. No sad, empty feeling which is kind of satisfied but so distraught that it had to come to an end. It did not leave me with that empty Oh-my-god-why-would-you-end-it-there-where-is-the-next-page-because-it-can’t-be-over, type of book.

I can’t even really remember what happens in it.

So here’s a summary.

Summary

Miles moves to a new school. He makes friends. He meets Alaska Young, who is crazy, beautiful, clever, messed up… And then stuff happens. Well, actually only one thing really happens. But that’s the big plot twist. So, no, not telling you.

Cons

My expectations were way too high for this book. I was expecting to have a whirlwind of emotions like a hormonal, pregnant woman. But no. I just didn’t care for any of the characters. Alaska was interesting, but she didn’t make me love her. She was far too crazy and eccentric for me to really connect to her, and see what Miles was seeing. And I really see how he was so in love with this girl, when he was making out with Lara, and doing all sorts of stuff with her (trying to keep this review PG right now). He seemed more like it was lust, than him actually being in love with her. He even asked Alaska for advice for how to do all this stuff with Lara, and both don’t really seem to care.

And Alaska just treated him like something to play with when she got bored. She only seemed to care about him like a friend. And then, just when I thought the plot was picking up a bit more and we would see some more character development, the big twist happened, which doesn’t leave anymore room for her character development.

I think it was because the book was too short. I feel like it would have been a lot better if it were twice as long. The Fault in Our Stars is pretty massive, compared to Looking For Alaska, which may be because this was John Green’s first book. And though it sounds like I’m being really mean about it, I’m really not. You’ll see.

Pros

Though the Cons were pretty annoying, let’s be honest. John Green is a pretty phenomenal writer. His writing style is so awesome. His dialogue is hilarious but so natural and flowing. All of his characters feel so real (no matter how much they annoy me), and all the tiny details he adds in his books just enhance the entire feeling. Everything feels so original, even though the premise of the book, minus the big twist, is pretty average (main character has no friends, moves school, makes awesome friends and meets amazingly beautiful and clever love interest.), but he makes it so interesting and plain awesome.

I mean, Alaska really is an awesome character, even though she irritated me, though that’s because she was so fascinating. We really never got to find out what caused her to be so messed up, and with so many mood swings, but she was a great character. I would have liked to have known more about her so maybe then I would have been able to connect with her, but the book was short, as I’ve said before, so we never got to discover her.

And his books are always bursting with awesome quotes. For example:

Quotes:

  • I wanted to be one of those people who have streaks to maintain, who scorch the ground with their intensity. But for now, at least I knew such people, and they needed me, just like comets need tails.
  • And in my classes, I will talk most of the time, and you will listen most of the time. Because you may be smart, but I’ve been smart longer.
  • If people were like rain, I was like drizzle and she was a hurricane.
  • What the hell is instant? Nothing is instant. Instant rice takes five minutes, instant pudding an hour. I doubt that an instant of blinding pain feels particularly instantaneous.

Overall

Extremely torn over this one. Because it was a great book, but not that great, but it was John Green. Erm… I don’t know…

Ok, let’s just go with 4 shuriken stars, because I feel like that’s a good-ish place for it to go. It was better than The Host, but not as good as The Hunger Games. And yes, I would recommend it, but only if you don’t care about a lot of swearing. And some scenes which would definitely not classify as PG. Or 12. Or even 15, if they want to show everything.

Leave a Reply

