Gone- Michael Grant

I LOVE MICHAEL GRANT! RECENTLY I GOT MY BOOK SIGNED BY HIM!!!! I WAS SO HAPPY!!! AFTER MY BROTHER CAME HOME WITH IT SIGNED I LITERALLY JUMPED UP AND DOWN FOR 5 WHOLE MINUTES!!!!, then I gave the book a hug… :D. Now going back to the book, THIS BOOK IS AMAZING!!! IT IS AWESOME!!! IT IS THRILLING. IT IS MIND- BOGGLING!!!, I could literally rant about this book forever! :D. Ok. I’ll try to stop. *Taking deep breaths* This book is the first in a series, called the Gone series, by Michael Grant. The next books in the series are called Hunger, Lies, Plague, Fear and Light (but Fear and Light aren’t out yet… – Fear is being released really really soon!!!- April 3rd, and Light- 2013).

Gone (Gone, #1)Summary!
Basically, everybody over the age of 15 disappears, in this town called Perdido Beach! It is like an awesome version of Lord of the Flies!!! (but I haven’t read that book… I kinda just looked it up on wiki… ;D). Well. After everyone disappears, everyone starts freaking out (as to be expected…) And well, lets just say some things happen; that are a bit cruel, and there is just a little bit of blood and guts… (!) :D. The inhabitants of Perdido Beach start to choose sides; SAM OR CAINE!, And it all builds up!!!!!!!!!!!- AMAZING!

Cons
The Suggested Reading Age
On the back of the book it says that this book is intended for people over 12 years of age. In my opinion, this is quite low (although I did read it when I was that age…), as there are quite a lot of gruesome scenes- and in one of those someone actually dies… and to be honest, I’m not sure it is something that a 12 year old should be reading… Also with the later books, there are some even more disturbing scenes- We will explain in later reviews… and those scenes ARE REALLY REALLY SCARRING…- I WAS SCARRED… AND IF A 12 YEAR OLD READ THAT, THEY WOULD BE PEEING THEIR PANTS IN FEAR!!!!, Well, unless he/ she is a very mature 12 year old… 😀

No other cons!

Pros
The Action
It was such a fast book!!!!!!!!! It kept me hooked all through it and it was just awesome!!! Though I do have to say that the beginning wasn’t as fast- paced as the end; at the beginning it was so funny!- It was just like “Huh? Everyone just disappeared? Lets go home!” , and then it all goes down hill for the characters from then… Michael Grant never repeats the ideas and I didn’t expect almost every twist!

Caine
He is the perfect villain that has ever lived! He is just so smooth and smart, and he is such a good leader. HE IS JUST SO AWESOME!!!!- he is one of my favourite characters in the gone series! (along with Diana and Dekka!)

Getting back at Weishi!
Basically… I recommended this book to her… like loads of times… It was really funny!!! And as you can probably imagine, she eventually got annoyed and decided to give in and read the book! When she was reading the book she tried REALLY REALLY hard to hate it… and she kept on saying how it wasn’t that awesome (note. this was just to get back at me for forcing her to read the book). But eventually she gave into THE AWESOMENESS OF THE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It is unforgettable
Because IT IS SO AMAZING!!!! And also scary to think that if this happened, this could be what the people inside would be like…, which is really really really creepy… (I find the part where I can actually imagine it, really creepy too…)

The gooeyness in Gone
I thought that the gooeyness (romanticness) in Gone is pretty good. It doesn’t go too far, and there is also some, to get some diversity on it. I thought that the relationships were really sweet, in Gone. But progreeesivly throughout the Gone series the gooeyness gets more, but don’t get me wrong; all of the Gone series is mostly action, there are just some things that happen… on a bed… In a “Gone book”…, ahem. moving on

Favourite Quotes

  • “That’s your solution? Have a cookie?’ Astrid asked. ‘No, my solution is to run down to the beach and hide out until this is all over,’ Sam said. ‘But a cookie never hurts.”
  • “Sam had a DVD in his hand. He said, “Yesterday I sent Edilio to the power plant to get two things. First, a cache of automatic weapons from the guardhouse.
    “Machine guns?”
    “Yeah. Not just for us to have, but to make sure the other side doesn’t get them.”
    “Now we have an arms race,” Astrid said.
    Her tone seemed to irritate Sam. “You want me to leave them for Caine?”
    “I wasn’t criticizing, just… you know. Ninth graders with machine guns; it’s hard to make that a happy story.”
    Sam relented. He even grinned. “Yeah. The phrase ‘ninth graders with machine guns’ isn’t exactly followed by ‘have a nice day’.”
  • “But if all they did was kill time, time would end up killing them.”
  • “Welcome to Perdido beach, where our motto is: Radiation, what radiation?”

Overall
Overall THIS BOOK IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!! I STRONGLY RECOMMEND YOU TO READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!! BORROW IT, BUY IT, ANYTHING!!!, JUST GET YOUR HANDS ON THIS BOOK!!!! As you can tell from all of the “!”s; 5 SHURIKEN STARS!!!!!! 

19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rick on May 6, 2012 at 12:07 am

    Just finished the 1st book….. it was great.
    I still dont know why diana stayde with caine and i still dont know if diana likes Sam

    Reply

    • Just to warn you, the first book is one of the better books in the series, along with plague and fear (in my opinion though…). 😀 Diana is AWESOME!!! And so is Caine!!! at they are so creepy together… but not as creepy as Drake…, who is a physco… Just to clarify, Diana doesn’t like Sam, he and Astrid kinda get together (i think…, I read that book along time ago…)

      Reply

  2. Posted by blackbeast35 on May 6, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    yea…. i know he and astrid get together but it seemed like diana liked sam in a creepy way.. she also kinda cried out when sam got shot….. but i see your point

    Reply

  3. Posted by blackbeast35 on May 6, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    This is Rick’s account by the way… i see that astrid and sam got together but still…. it seemed that diana liked sam in a creepy way… she also cried out when he got shot and tried to protect him when the coates kids first arrived

    Reply

  4. Posted by blackbeast35 on May 10, 2012 at 1:17 am

    anyway it was a good book but i hate the cover because i like to imagine the characters for myself……… like Astrid having brown hair even though in the book it might say it is blonde

    Reply

  5. Posted by blackbeast35 on May 10, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    yea i have american cover

    Reply

  6. Posted by blackbeast35 on May 10, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    i dont like it

    Reply

  7. Posted by blackbeast35 on May 10, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    but i dont like the cover that yall have either so i guess it doesnt matter

    Reply

  8. Posted by thatvoiceinsidemyhead on May 15, 2013 at 6:44 pm

    AAAAHHHHH i actually read an extract from this (the first six chapters to be precise) and now I reallyreallyreallyreallyreallyreallyreally want to get all the books! (unfortunately I’m forced to restrain myself until after exams otherwise I won’t be able to stop reading it)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

