The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

This is a review of the first book, not the trilogy.
Now, if you’ve never heard of the hunger games, I don’t know where you’ve been. There’s a movie coming out on 23rd March 2012 (or already out, if you’re reading it after that date. If you are, then: “OMG IT WAS SO AWESOME!!!!” or “OMG IT WAS SO RUBBISH!!”. Just choose the response you want.

We are, of course, freaking out about the movie. Hopefully, it’ll be awesome. (is awesome/was awesome. Doing different tenses is hard.)

Now before I start talking about this, let’s get one thing straight. This blog is co-owned by two people. Who usually have similar opinions on books, but every so often are conflicting. This is one of those cases.

I prefer Peeta, but the other owner of this blog prefers Gale.

So I’m doing the first book, so I’m going to be saying how awesome Peeta is compared to Gale, because I’m biased, but this is just in case you guys get confused. This is one of those weird times where we don’t agree. (There are other times where we have conflicting opinions, including Toy Story, Harry Potter, Rot and Ruin, and so on…)

And because we LOVE making you guys confused, I will only be doing 1 and 3 in the series. Yanni will be doing 2. So here’s what it’ll probably be like.

1- Peeta is so awesome! Gale shouldn’t go with Katniss!
2- Gale is awesome! Peeta is stupid!
3- OMG I love Peeta, Gale is so annoying!

So, good luck with that.

So here’s a summary:
So, Katniss lives in Panem, which is basically North America. It’s split into 13 Districts, but Disctrict 13 got bombed because they were rebels or something. Now, one boy and one girl, from 12-18, get randomly selected from each of the remaining 12 districts to compete in the hunger games. Basically, they kill each other until there’s only one left, and that person wins.

Happy, right? The future’s looking bright already.

But don’t worry, it’s not a depressing book. Well… Not really, for a book about dead children. That bit’s pretty depressing. But the rest is fine.

So. Here’s what I thought could be improved on:

Cons

First Person?
This is a just a personal thing. It really doesn’t matter too much. I think the entire series would have worked better if it was in 3rd person for two reasons.

1. It can seem strange at times when Katniss refers to herself. It seems more like Suzanne Collins is referring to how the reader sees her, than how Katniss sees herself. I found it strange in a way, for example when Katniss refers to herself as the girl on fire multiple times. In the 3rd person it would seem completely normal, but when she refers to herself in this way it makes her seem stuck up and extremely sure of herself, even though she is portrayed as a scared, lost girl far from home.

2. It would be nice to see things from other tribute’s perspective. I would be really interested to read about the careers, as they seem like complete monsters in the book, and most of the fans view them that way, even though they are victims themselves. Like Cato, Clove or Glimmer, that would have been interesting. They die because the Capitol made them into killing machines. And in that way we’d be able to see them less as monsters and more like the children they are. Even reading about the other tributes, like the cripple they mentioned in the 74th games, that would have been interesting. Or Foxface, I loved her. I just wish there was more about her, or some sort of explanation of what happened to all the other tributes. It would have also been nice to see stuff that was happening in district 12 with Prim and Gale, or how the other districts functioned. I’ve heard that the movie goes into more depth about that, which is awesome, but I wish the book had done the same. It would have made it a lot more interesting.

That isn’t a complaint. I just feel like it would have pulled the final rating a tiny bit higher if that had been done.

I don’t think there really is anything else…

Ok then.

Pros

Everything else.

THE WHOLE BOOK IS AWESOME.

I loved the concept of it. and I was completely addicted when I was reading it. It wasn’t, however, one of those where you can’t turn the pages fast enough. It wasn’t one of those books which make you go through all these different emotions, in my personal experience. I didn’t cry when Rue died. Sorry if that makes me heartless, but I didn’t. I don’t usually cry at books. The only time that has happened was reading Monsters of Men (The ending KILLED me. Something inside of me died) and it would have be full blown out tears if I hadn’t been in a very public place with a lot of people around me, and I wasn’t supposed to be reading under the table.

Oops.

Quotes

  • “You don’t forget the face of the person who was your last hope.”
  • “Destroying things is much easier than making them.”
  • “You’ve got about as much charm as a dead slug.”

Overall

I don’t know what to give it.It was mindnumbingly awesome, but I still loved it, I just don’t know whether I can really give it such a high rating as 5. So here it is, 4 1/2 shuriken stars. Definitely read it, guys, it’s a great book.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Can someone pls tell me WTF is so cool about Gale? seriously? I see Team Gale everywhere. He’s a douche.

    PEETA FTW! 🙂

    Reply

  2. That’s what I tell all my friends! But of course, they’re all Team Gale. I mean, I guess I don’t mind him, but I’ve always thought Peeta was the more obvious choice. He’s been in love with her since he was tiny, he risked his life to save her, and he’s just plain awesome. Peeta, all the way!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

