Everwild – Neal Shusterman

MARY IS A PSYCHO

Those are the words that kept coming to mind while I was reading this book. If you haven’t read it, then you’ll know soon.

Everwild is the second book in the skinjacker trilogy (Everlost, Everwild, Everfound), and it definitely holds up the amazingness of the first book. To be honest, it surpasses the first book. I enjoyed this one a lot more. Maybe because it’s darker, more intriguing, there are a lot more storylines happening between different characters, and altogether it’s awesome. It really is. If you haven’t read these books, then read them! What’s wrong with you? Go read all of them now!

Now I can’t really summarise this book without ruining the last one, so here’s the only way I can really do it.

Summary
Urgh, Mary! NICK!!!! Mikey and Allie? MILOS YOU CREEP! ZIN! NO THE DOG!!!! MARY YOU CRAZY PSYCHO WITCH!

That’s pretty much how the story goes.

Cons

It ended
Seriously, that’s my only Con. Now I can’t wait to read the next book, but I have too much work.Damn you, Neal Shusterman for making me skip my homework to read your amazing books. Why do you have to write such awesome stories?

Pros

Plot = AMAZING
All the twists were amazing. Especially the one involving Allie and all the skinjackers. And then everything with Mary. Geez, I was like :O throughout a lot of this book. I love the direction Neal Shusterman took this book, how it was so much darker and all the ethical problems with skinjacking and ripping and so on and so on. It was all just so amazing. I never wanted to put the book down.

Characters = AMAZING
My favourite character is Zin. She was awesome. She reminded me of Deryn from the Leviathan Series – Scott Westerfeld. MAybe it was because they had similar circumstances, but she had the same basic personality as Deryn. And I love Deryn, so of course I would love Zin.
Milos, the creepiest afterlight EVER, was so annoying. Creepy dude. Urgh.
Of course Allie and Nick and Mikey and so on were all awesome. And then we get to the most stand-out character in the book.

Mary.
I feel like she deserves her own little section.

She is so messed up. I don’t even know where to start with her. I won’t mention why she is messed up, for all you readers out there who haven’t read this book. But all of you that have: “SHE IS FREAKING PSYCHOPATHIC”. Every time she worked out what was going on, did her reaction take you by surprise? Because every time I waited for her to lose it and she didn’t. I was sitting there going “WTH???” :O And slowly, as the book progressed, she turned more and more psycho until I knew what was going to happen at the end. I saw that ending coming from halfway through the book when Nick revealed his plan to Zin.
The reason this took me so by surprise is that Mary was always portrayed as a loving, caring character so I presumed she would be like Mary from the Gone Series – Michael Grant. But she definitely developed as a character. Definitely. This also confirms my belief that Nick should not be in love with her. I like Nick, I think Nick’s cool (apart from the thing with the dog. Not cool. I understand why he did it and stuff but I loved that dog. And I love Zin.) and Mary’s completely cuckoo so he really needs to find another girl.
There were many times in the book where I wanted to physically punch Mary. I had to put the book down and calm myself down before I continued reading so I wouldn’t get so agitated with her.

Neal Shusterman, how do you get me feeling these violent thoughts about characters that aren’t real? How is this possible?

 And the ending. The ENDING!
That was one hell of an ending. I knew it was coming. I really did. But to end there. Right there. Now that’s just cruel. It’s-Rick-Riordan-and-the Son-of-Neptune-ending type of not cool. God. I have to find out what happens. I NEED to find out what happens.

Quotes (The only ones I can do without ruining the book)

  • “On a sunny Tuesday – for it seems so many awful things happen on a Tuesday – six astronauts and one schoolteacher attempted to pierce the sky. Instead they touched the stars.”
  • “Heaven might shine bright, but so do flames.”
  • “Great tragedies have great consequences. They ripple through the fabric of this world and the next. When the loss is too great for either world to bear, Everlost absorbs the shock, like a cushion between the two.”

Overall

Do you even have to ask how many stars I’ll give it? 5 shuriken stars, easily. Guys, you have to read this!

Leave a Reply

