Bruiser- Neal Shusterman

BruiserI don’t know what to say about this… I really enjoyed reading it and I guess it could be one of my favourites… But I was really disappointed at the ending… It just left so many unanswered questions… I also though that it was a bit of a let down because literally just before reading this book I was reading Unwind and the Everlost trilogy (WHICH WERE AMAZING!!!). Anyway… enough negatives and back to the proper review.
This book is by Neal Shusterman, who is also the author of the books Unwind and The Everlost Trilogy (which if you haven’t read READ THEM NOW!!!). I’m not really the type of person to read something romantic and gooey, but I got recommending this book by a friend so I read it! and it was actually really good! I really enjoyed reading the plot and loved watching how the different characters developed and I LOVED READING IT IN THE DIFFERENT VIEWPOINTS; they really make the book unique and interesting, because the different viewpoints were written so differently, I’ll write about that later in the review! The twists were quite good, but i kinda expected them (but that may be my own fault because I read the Q & A with Neal Shusterman at the end of the book). And well… those are the main reasons why I liked the book… and most of the negatives are above…; I felt as if I should start with the negatives and then finish positive so we can all feel happy! (is that weird?)

A quick summary!
This book is mainly about a teenage boy called Brewster, a.k.a Bruiser. He is a somewhat misunderstood and troubled person; he has no friends and he doesn’t try to make friends with anybody. He lives quite a isolated and depressing life with his brother Cody and his EVIL EVIL Uncle Hoyt (as you can tell I REALLY REALLY DON’T LIKE HIS UNCLE…). The book is written in four different points of view; Tennyson (Bronte’s brother), Bronte (Bruiser’s girlfriend- to be honest… I don’t really understand why he gets a girlfriend, if he doesn’t have any friends…), Bruiser himself and Cody (Bruiser’s brother). The book is partly about how Bruiser falls for Bronte and visa versa. And after he falls for her, strange things begin to happen…….(the dots are supposed to be for suspence… :D)…….. a lot of her pains; both physical and emotional begin to *disappear!* dumdumdum!

Cons
as I said before, THE ENDING
Because I probably shouldn’t spoil anything, I’ll try to keep it vague! 😀 Basically… I thought that the ending was quite vague and there wasn’t any closure to the book; I wanted to know what happened next… and.. and… I really can’t say any more… ;(

Pros
The different Points of View
The different Points of View were really good and really different. It was written in the points of view of Tennyson, Bronte, Bruiser and Cody.

  • Tennyson: he was really sweet! and Neal Shusterman wrote his point of view in the present tense; which, to me anyway, made it seem more intense!
  • Bronte: Her point of view was looking into the past. This sometimes made me feel frustrated (in a good way though!) because we know something happens, but we don’t know what… and Bronte always hints at what happens but never actually tells us, until the end!!! So it kept me gripped on the book, which was good!!! 😀
  • Bruiser: His point of view was hard to get used to at first, because it was written in a poetry style! But after I had gotten used to it I thought it was AMAZING!!! It is such an unusual style of writing and I thought that it really suited his character!
  • Cody: Cody’s point of view was written really well! I could tell that he was a little kid. He was the one who told us a lot of Bruiser’s history and it makes us understand him more!

The gooeyness
Lets just get this out. I don’t like gooey books, I never have liked gooey books, and I never intend to like gooey books (and by gooey I mean romantic). I find them really boring and the plot is almost always the same; girl meets boy, girl falls in love, happily ever after…(!). When I first saw this book and read the blurb I thought that it would be just like those (the only reason I actually bothered to read the book is because NEAL SHUSTERMAN IS AN AMAZING WRITER!!!). But THIS BOOK is AMAZING!!! It wasn’t gooey enough to make me want to throw up, yet it was gooey enough so that I respected the characters more. The balance between the two were just right!

Favourite Quotes

  • “Once in a while our school has half days, and the teachers spend the afternoon ‘in service,’ which I think must be a group therapy for having to deal with us.”
  • “I’ll never understand how a man can live his life
    With his finger on the self-destruct button,
    Holding it there day after day,
    Blinded by an obsession to press it
    But lacking the conviction to do even that.”

Overall
I think this is a very good book! Maybe not as good as the other book he has written, but still really good! The writing style is very unique and interesting to read! In my opinion this book is probably a 4 shuriken star book… but because this book is run by two people… we have a problem… the other person thinks this book is better than 4 shuriken stars… maybe even 5… which i think is over- rated… so we might as well go in between and say 4.5? SO I URGE ALL OF YOU PEOPLE OUT THERE WHO MAY, OR MAY NOT BE READING THIS BLOG TO GO AND READ THIS BOOK!!!!! 😀

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by micah johnson on November 21, 2013 at 1:41 am

    you wrote this review one day before my birthday and I love it I totally agree with you. you are totally on point keep posting and ill keep looking

    Reply

Leave a Reply

