Wicked Lovely – Melissa Marr

SPOILER ALERT!
(Just ruining some major “plot twists”. Don’t worry, they aren’t very good twists.)

So, I’d been told that Wicked Lovely was good. Not by any of my friends, but by the internet. It got 3.74 stars on goodreads, which is around the same amount that Everlost by Neal Shusterman got, So I thought “Hey, this might be interesting.”

And to be honest…

Well. You’re about to find out.

Summary
Aislinn (which is apparently pronounced Ashling, but I just kept saying Eileen in my head, because the spelling was really annoying me) can see faeries (yes, that is how it is spelled in the book.). Except faeries are really annoying in this book. She gets stalked by this really handsome faery called Keenan – who thinks she is the summer queen – and has a crush on her best friend, Seth. And basically, she has to save summer.

Cons (this may take a while)

Aislinn
So, when I started reading the book, I thought “Man, she sounds like a Mary-Sue”. I had two reasons for this:
1. Her name.
2. Her appearance (The whole black hair, blue eyes, stunningly pretty combination which everybody seems to love. If it’s not that, it’s the bright red hair, green eyes combo that is also insanely popular with Mary-Sues.)
But I thought I was being too mean on her. Maybe the author would make Aislinn 3-dimensional and I would like her. I thought the exact same thing about Ariana in Unwind when they mentioned her purple eyes. Turns out I was wrong by a long shot there.
But I was wrong about Aislinn. I mean, she wasn’t a Mary Sue, that would be too harsh, but she was just, meh.
She really doesn’t have any personality above the stereotypical YA female (which basically means nothing). There is nothing that defines her at all to be different. I know nothing about her to make her original or a strong character. She didn’t make me hate her, but that’s because she had no personality. Whatsoever. Actually, you know what, she’s worse than the stereotypical YA female. Because you don’t know any of her likes/dislikes. At least with some of them you get the really annoying “Oh, I’m the best artist/runner/singer in my class and everyone has to stop and watch me and look at how amazing I am”. Aislinn only has her crazy faeries. Without them, she’s like a cardboard cut out of a person. Then again, maybe that was the point? If it was, then it wasn’t shown at all.

Keenan
So Keenan has a personality. But that’s not a good thing, not for his case, anyway.
All I could keep thinking was how much of a creep this guy is. HE IS SO CREEPY. Now, because of him, if something or someone is so creepy that I can’t find enough ways to express it, I call it Keenan. Yup, his name is now the new definition of creepy to me.
And I would understand if I was supposed to feel this way, but apparently I was the only one who felt like this. Apparently I’m supposed to LIKE Keenan. When I was on the internet, everyone said how much they wanted him as their boyfriend or how hot he was. But he is such a creeper. Like when he drugged Aislinn with fairy poison stuff to make her turn into a faery, where she could either:

1. Become Summer Queen and have to marry Keenan and be forced to fall in love with him and sleep with him.
2. Become the faery equivalent of a prostitute and be forced to sleep with Keenan when he got bored.
3. Become like Donia and basically be painfully tortured for all eternity.

And I’m supposed to like this guy?!?!?!
(And, that he dated Aislinn’s mum! How messed up is that? And his thing with Donia at the end. And his way of trying to distract Seth so he could go and drug Aislinn and force her to turn into a faery.)

Seth
Seth has no personality. He is not realistic at all. He is just THERE for Aislinn to gawk over, and fall in love with. He’s the third, unneeded point of the love triangle. And apparently he’s really rich even though he never works.

The Conclusion
Worst. Ending. Ever.
That’s probably an exaggeration, but it really felt like that. It was the most easy ending there could ever be, and it felt like a cop-out. Everything just happened to end PERFECTLY for everyone. How convenient. How perfect. It was so annoying. And the truth is, I saw it coming. Because the entire book was so predictable. (apart from the whole bit about Keenan dating her mum)

Keenan and Aislinn’s Mum
What. The. Hell.
I mean, at first it seems like a good twist. But then it has no use at all. At all. Melissa Marr never brings it up again. Why would you bring up this massive twist which does nothing for the story. Why? It had so much potential… That’s the thing that bugs me… It could have pulled this story an entire star higher. But no. No relevance at all.

Pros

The Idea
I liked the idea. It was a good idea. If only Melissa Marr had expanded on her idea so that it was more about the faeries than it was about this stupid love triangle with a very annoying ending. The whole thing about faeries being evil and no one being able to see them was really cool, and I think it could have made a really good book if there had been better characters, a better plot, the writing style hadn’t been so hard to understand (I never understood any of her descriptions. So, are the wolves wolves or faeries? Are they both? Do they have, like, wolf heads or something?) then it could have been a 3 star. But nope. It just wasn’t meant to be. I would have been a lot more interested if the whole book was juts about the faeries, maybe about their politics or about them teasing humans. Anything.

The Love Triangle
This is the smallest Pro ever. The love triangle was slightly different. The girl didn’t fall in love with the creepy faery dude. She fell in love with the normal dude who had loads of money instead. I guess that makes it kinda different from all the twilight copycats and so on. I don’t know if that counts as a pro, but it’s not a con. So I guess it is.

Aislinn Noticed that Keenan was strange
She notices that he’s being creepy. Well done, Aislinn, well done. Way better than a lot of YA girl characters (I’m looking at you, twilight). That’s not saying much, but I guess it’s a small victory.

The Cover

The cover was really pretty. Not really one that would make me want to instantly pick it up and read it, but it’s still pretty. The whole frozen flower thing makes nice artwork.

Quotes (not a very quotable book, so let’s just put the times where Aislinn notices Keenan being creepy)

  • “Keenan was staring at her, too intently for comfort. “I don’t know why certain people shine for others. I don’t know why you and not someone else.” He gently pulled her forward and whispered, “But it’s you I think of when I wake each morning. It’s your face in my dreams.”
    Aislinn swallowed. That would seem odd even if he were normal. And he wasn’t. What he was-unfotunately-was completely serious.”
  • “After a steadying breath, Aislinn turned to Keenan. “I’m sure you can figure out lunch without help. So, umm, go make friends or whatever.”
    And she walked away.
    He sped up to stay beside her as they entered the cafeteria. “May I join you?”
    “No.”
    He stepped in front of her. “Please?”
    “No.” She dropped her bag into a chair next to Rianne’s things. Ignoring him-and the stares they were attracting-she opened her bag.
    He hadn’t moved.
    With a shaky gesture, she pointed. “The line’s over there.”
    He looked at the throng slowly progressing to the vats of food. “Can I get you something?”
    “A little space?”

Overall

So, how many stars? I’m kinda torn. I think 1 1/2 shuriken stars. Melissa Marr had a good idea, she just never used it to it’s potential. I wish she’d developed it more. I would only recommend it to you guys who hail supernatural twilight rip-offs as the most amazing books on existence. You’ll love this, then. For the rest of you, who are more for the character development and amazing plot, steer clear of this one. You won’t like it, I guarantee that. I don’t. I tried reading the next book, “Ink Exchange”, and failed. Miserably. It was exactly the same as the last one, I don’t know what I was expecting…

7 responses to this post.

  1. *no I am not randomly going through your old posts from over a year ago*
    love this. totally agree with you. I struggled to finish this series cos it just wasn’t interesting. I didn’t understand half the sh*t that happened in the novel and nothing exciting happened that made me want to read on.
    And am I the only one who was seriously disturbed by Marr’s intense focus on the faery sex scenes? *shudders*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

