The Knife of Never Letting Go – Patrick Ness

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking, #1)THIS. BOOK.

THIS BOOK IS AMAZING.

THERE IS NOTHING ON THIS EARTH QUITE LIKE IT. IT HAS LEFT ME STUNNED AND SPEECHLESS.

DEFINITELY ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ, OR EVER WILL READ.

I found this book in the bookshop one day and I thought it looked interesting. As you can tell from the stuff above, I enjoyed it. A lot.

This book is by the awesome author, Patrick Ness. It is also the first book in the Chaos Walking Trilogy, of which the second and third have also been reviewed, as well as the companion novella. This book, to quote from the Sunday Telegraph was “Furiously paced, terrifying, exhilarating and heartbreaking”. I agree with that, whole-heartedly.

 

Summary
THIS BOOK IS AMAZING.

I am so tempted just write that for the summary, however, because I am a nice person, I will tell you some other aspects, so you can be sure that you will love this series.

This book is set in the future, when global warming has killed the earth (I think…), so people fly out to another planet and start their lives there. However, there is this illness called the “Noise germ” which projects all of your thoughts, so everybody can hear them. This book is narrated by a boy called Todd, who is the son of one of the settlers. He lives in a town called Prentisstown, which is town with only men in it. The book is basically about Todd who is on the run, because the town has been lying to him about some pretty big stuff. He runs away with his dog and “the hole in the noise” from the Prentisstown army and this CRAZY, LUNATIC PSYCHOPATHIC GUY CALLED AARON.

Cons
I REFUSE TO BELIEVE THERE ARE ANY CONS.

Pros
I LOVE THE CHARACTERS
The characters are amazing. Everything in this book is amazing. I don’t know how you could describe them. Todd and Viola just have this connection between them, I don’t know how to explain it. If I ever go to a weird planet where everything talks in its mind then I want to be like them. We see their characters develop throughout the book and there are some scenes with just the two of them that are incredibly heart-wrenching and sweet, though not overly romantic (seriously, I don’t do romantic books).

(This is Weishi trying to explain how she thinks the characters develop, but Yanni can just delete this if she wants to. Weishi apologises for bursting in on Yanni’s review without permission. Weishi is the other person who writes on this blog, if you don’t already know. She says “hi”, gives you a free hug, and wishes to stop talking in third person.) Todd has an innocence and naivety about him that slowly get eroded away by the hard situations that he has to deal with. He becomes colder, angrier and more desperate, until his only beacon of hope becomes Viola. Viola starts out as nervous and afraid, but brave. Her struggles result to her becoming more jaded and determined, but also more open towards the people she trusts.

Manchee
He is, undoubtedly, my favourite character in this book, perhaps in any book ever.  He is so awesome and loyal that I think he deserves his own little paragraph (there is no greater honour!). Patrick Ness writes him in a way that almost seems real – as in if I had a dog I could actually imagine it running around yelling in its mind “POO”.

Plot
I LOVED THE PLOT. IT WAS SO FAST PACED AND JUST AMAZING! I won’t say any more in case I accidentally spoil something!

The Beginning and the End
The beginning got me hooked straight away: “The first thing you find out when yer dog learns to talk is that dogs don’t got nothing much to say.”.

So many questions were racing through my head: “How the hell can a dog talk?”, “Who are these people?” and “Why does the narrator talk funny?”. But rest assured all of these questions have now been answered, and now I’m in a state of peace! 😀 Actually,no, that’s not true because of the ENDING of this book. An amazing cliffhanger.

Quotes (I had so many quotes that I had to cut down)

  •  “When luck ain’t with you it’s against you”
  • “He’s a woman.
    He’s a grown woman.
    He’s a old woman.”
  • “you can eff off, too,” I say, except I don’t say eff, I say what ‘eff’ stands for”
  • “You starting to feel hope yet?” Viola asks, her voice curious.
    “No,” I say, fuddling my noise. “You?”
    Her eyebrows are up but she shakes her head. “No, No.”
    “But we’re going anyway.”
    “Oh, yeah,” Viola says. “Hell or high water.”
    “It’ll probably be both,” I say.”
  • “I think the asking is whether we get back up again.”
  • “Poo. Poo, Todd.”

Overall
THIS BOOK IS AMAZING.

I URGE ALL OF YOU WHO HAVEN’T READ THIS TO READ IT.

YOUR LIFE WILL NOT BE COMPLETE WITHOUT IT.

This book is my favourite book out of all the books that I have ever read. I can’t imagine one being better, and I have quite a big imagination. Although I enjoyed this book, I can understand that not everybody will like it. Some people may be bothered by the grammar, or the writing style, but personally, I think that it is amazing. Without a doubt, 5 shuriken stars!

One response to this post.

  1. If only the signal-to-noise ratio were higher…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

